We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lip-Licking Deliciousness - A Taste-bud Treat!!”

Radha Krishna Bhavan
Ranked #3,540 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, International
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
“Lip-Licking Deliciousness - A Taste-bud Treat!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

About 10 years ago I was walking along the high street in Tooting Bec, looking for somewhere to eat. Looking through the window of Radha Krishna Bhavan restaurant, and seeing palm tree wallpaper & a statue of a Hindu god/dess put a smile on my face (I love kitsch!) and then, seeing an article from Time Out Good Foods Review in the window, was enough to entice me inside, and after this first meal, I knew I had found somewhere special. I have returned many times and taken friends from in & out of town, as well as getting quite a few take-aways - it's not in my local neighbourhood, so it's a real treat - tonight I was driving past on my way home and resistance was futile! Every mouthful brings an immediate response of exquisite deliciousness to your taste buds. I'm still savouring the flavours while having a post-dinner chill on the couch. A real gem of a restaurant - sweet staff and quirky decor are just a bonus to the food which is, a notch above the rest, and as they specialise in food from south India, there are many dishes on the menu that you wouldn't get to experience in most Indian restaurants. Sweet!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FranklyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    30
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simple pleasures.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Last night was the 3rd time I've eaten here and I wanted to take a friend to introduce him to the place. It was a great eating experience. The space is a little run down but it in my eyes just adds to it's charm. The staff were attentive and friendly.

660ml beer, ice cold, £3.90! what a bargain. Dosai in any form is lush, the mango and banana curry is lush, especially because it is now Alfonso mango season...The chicken 65 was nice but could have had more chilli, and their house specialty Velloppam was delicious. We just ordered all this stuff and shared. This restaurant shows that all you need is great food, a nice atmosphere, decent prices and you are onto a winner; a classic 'word of mouth' place that you'll want to return to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamorrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Easily my favourite curry destination and in an area awash with amazing authentic currys, it really stands out.

The best dish is the "lamb cooked in a way you've never seen before"! Fragrant and nom nom nom!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeWildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Kerala Cuisine”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent dosa, lunchtime thali, chicken malabar, beetroot, green banana, breads and succulent byriani dishes. One of the most consistently good restaurants in SW17.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic South Indian restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited after reading a few reviews online. Small and modest restaurant on the high street serving delicious and authentic cuisine from Kerela. Delicious masala dosai and pepper fry lamb to start. The Cochin prawn curry was also delicious.
Friendly staff. Would love to come back and try more of the delicious looking dishes we missed out on!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiorahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radha Krishna Bhavan also viewed

 
 

Been to Radha Krishna Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing