We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, delicately cooked Indian Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quilon

Quilon
Ranked #181 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $192
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Among the new generation of Indian restaurants specialising in lighter sauces and a more eclectic menu, Quilon is the sister restaurant of the famous Bombay Brasserie. The interior is an elegant mix of rich muted colours and the bar is a particularly popular place to meet. The delicious food is described as 'Coastal Cuisine' and dishes such as seafood, crustacea and a variety of specialities are available. Dishes includes Char-grilled shrimps with lime and chilli, lobster with tangy Goan pickle and fish curry with coconut. Quilon received a "Five Star Diamond Award" from the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences and was granted its first Michelin star in 2008.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful, delicately cooked Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have at various points over the years been fortunate to dine at a fair few of the sub continent's favourites: Bombay Brasserie, Chutney Mary, Tamarind, Port D'Ingles and more recently, Mint Leaf. Based on last Saturday's visit I would say that this beat's them all (what ever time period you are judging them against).

The service was slick, efficient and not any point, too intrusive. The wine list is very comprehensive, and providing you chose carefully, not exhorbitant either.

The food itself was wonderful and easy to see why the restaurant holds a prized Michelin star. The starters (shared amongst the three of us) were a combination of crab cakes, prawns and lentil patties served with an assortment of sauces and chutneys; all freshly cooked and all melt in the mouth. For main courses, we erred towards the traditional and settled on Lamb Biryani, Prawn Masala and Cod cooked in the Tandoor. We ordered 3 vegetarian dishes which we were offered the opportunity to have as side dishes. Again, all dishes were delicately spiced, very tasty and with the optimum amount of sauce to accompany them.

Ambiance was good although the restaurant was, as expected relatively quiet, on Easter Saturday in Westminster.

All in all a wonderful evening and very, very different from most of our Indian experiences, even some of the recent ones at the Capital's more contemporary establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spireite65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    335
    125
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Sharper menu focused on taste not volume”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have n't been back here for a while, glad to say that it has recovered ground from also ran to very good.The menu has shrunk to emphasise quality and flavour of volume of choices. The pepper prawns are amazing, as is the tilapa and the chicken masala. My guests greatly enjoyed his lamb biriyani. The service has always been strong and remains so. Prices have dropped a little too. And the papdums are accompanied by a range of flavoursome pickles. Pleased to recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous ambience and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

On our recent trip we wanted to sample some of the Indian cuisine that we had heard has become a hallmark of London dining. We are glad we decided to go along with the recommendaiton of our hotel concierge to try Quinlon for supper. We both selected the tasting menu which offered delicious varied samplings such as grilled prawn with red onion and mango relish, coriander chicken, and lamb biryani. Servers were very knowledgeable, offering details about the origins of dishes, combinations of spices, etc. We definitely look forward to a return visit on our next trip to London.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Homebodytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor and really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came here on a Wednesday night with a colleague. Shared a couple of appetizers and a few entrees. The food was very nicely presented and tasted very good. I thought that mustard fish was a bit bland, but the lamb shank was delicious. The service was also very good. They recommended a terrific Scottish beer. I will say that the wine list is really pricey, so keep that in mind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teekhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, son and I enjoyed a fantastic late lunch at Quilon. Making selections from the set menu, we were able to enjoy several dishes plus dessert as well as tasting each other’s selections. The contemporary atmosphere is fresh and new and the service is outstanding. Our waiter knew the menu in detail from top to bottom and was happy to share his recommendations with us. For starters we order the Mini Masala Dosa, The Coconut Cream Chicken and Pepper Shrimps; all were delicious. The Chicken Roast, Quilon Fish Curry and Manglorean Chicken were perfectly spiced and well prepared. The cuisine in this restaurant takes southwestern Indian food to a new level with its unique blend of spices, updated menu and attractive presentation. I can’t wait to try this restaurant again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quilon also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Quilon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing