We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like steak you will love this restaurant”
Review of Popeseye

Popeseye
Ranked #5,944 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If you like steak you will love this restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Been here for ages but had never visited this steak restaurant. Now thinking to myself why did I take so long to go? The meal was delicious. Steak choices are huge - and the owner or waitress will advice you if you are unsure. Cooked perfectly and with a good choice of condiments.
Chips were chunky and crisp on the outside and lovely and soft within. Yum.
Oh and we had a beautiful pudding - baked cheesecake.
Would definitely come again. They know what they are doing and they do it well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yes61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
509 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Great steak 'n red, but bring on the chutney !”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Few brickbats for service amongst recent reviewers. Last night we were well sorted out by Bobu, who hails form Macedonia i.e. Balkan bit that previously was part of Yugoslavia, not the pale Greek imitation. She explained that all the bad stuff happened on Mondays under a different staff regime !! We much enjoyed superb filet steaks all washed down with a brace of Malbecs. I have some sympathy with those who demand a starter - why not offer avacado and prawns as a binary option to open proceedings. Chips were OK, but no better, come to think of it those truffle oil fried offerings from Goodmans of Maddox street would fit in well at the Pope's Eye.

Where I really would like to see progress is in the chutney department. After the steaks out comes a moderate chessboard, but hey -no chutney on offer. Consider the clientele that comes to the Eye, taste buds dulled by processed cr*p and perhaps the occasional undeclared horse-burger. We seek out stronger and stronger culinary taste experiences, nine condiments appear with the steaks, so per-lease get some good chutney to accompany the cheese ?? My mate and I used to work for over-serious US investment banks, so don't take the chutney observation as a criticism, we were just "reaching out" to the Pope's Eye with that comment, a kinda "stretch target"........

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieutenant_Feraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No sharing with your co-diners”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a cold Saturday night, and we were the only people there when we arrived. We wanted to order a large 20 oz steak to share between two of us, as it represented better value for money and was too big for one. The waitress informed us that we could not do this and that we had to order a steak each. If we didn't, we would be charged for one each regardless! Are they the food police?
The fillet steaks however, were excellent, tender and perfectly cooked. The chips were disappointing, frozen and from a packet. A steak house that doesn't do starters has very little other food preparation so I don't think it's too much trouble to prepare fresh chips.
Overall, whilst the steaks are very good, the over zealous food rules and the poor chips left us rather underwhelmed. A shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkybadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We came here without a reservation whilst it apparently is quite a popular restaurant. A very simple menu containing 3 sorts of meat in various weights and sizes cooked to your satisfaction.
A real recommedation when traveling to London. One of those hidden gems that everyone should know about.

Helpful?
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best steak in London?”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The menu is simplicity itself - three different types of steak and different sizes. I have never had a bad meal in the Blythe road restaurant in all the years I have been a fairly regular visitor. The steaks are beautifully cooked to order and the meat quality is always superb. The restaurant decor is simple and the service is always great. It is a real treat to visit and I will often go out of my way to have a meal there. Make sure that you have cash as they do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popeseye also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Popeseye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing