We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food”
Review of Ping Pong Soho

Ping Pong Soho
Ranked #771 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: London's Ping Pong restaurant in Soho serves delicious dim sum and Chinese dishes, fragrant teas and stunning cocktails. Ping Pong is one of the leading Chinese restaurant brands in central London.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Been here a few times and still going strong. Nice atmosphere, benches are uncomfortable after a while. Excellent non-alcoholic drinks and big bottles of Tsingtao.

The food is good - not greasy, unless it is Shanghainese, brilliant spare ribs and very good prawn toasts. Service was spot on.

Dim sum is a brilliant concept, as is service (often a bit lacking in 'authentic' Chinese). All in all, worth a visit - not bad value either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quandoquidem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    508
    165
    58
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was in between business meetings and in need of sustenance at lunchtime, so had a brainwave and tried (been there before) the Soho Ping Pong. Noisy welcome...well it was empty so the staff had to make me feel important (!), and took a seat up at the bar.

Tucked in to the delicious Ping Pong assortment which was excellent, had a couple of beers to help wash it down, stayed a while to check my emails via their free WiFi, and with service cost me £20. Yes, I could have bought a sandwich from one of the many quick food places for under a fiver, but this was relaxed and a great setting. I noticed that it filled up pretty quickly after I arrived, with a mix of ladies who shop and lunch plus a number of business tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“disappointing....”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Noisy and too frantic with greasy dim sum, uncomfortable tables and poor service. My daughter and I arrived for a pre theatre meal. We had to sit on tiny stools at little low tables, no one took our coats and scarves so they had to sit draped in decorous pools around our feet on the not too clean floor. Waiters and waitresses were very over worked and deliberately ignored our efforts to order and get a much needed drink and some food. Not their fault. They really had too many people to serve. They were young and inexperienced and I felt sorry for them. The dim sum was bland, all tasted the same and didn't fit on the table. I would never ever go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great dumplings”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

One has to choose the dumplings, which was nice, esp. when you share then with the others, one gets to taste many dumplings (chinese)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roswitha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Dim Sum”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here last Saturday, with a family group despite urging wealthy Uncle & Aunt that it was basically the Dim Sum equivalent of Pizza Express. Was not really impressed with the Dim Sum itself especially considering prices. (Beers & wine are particularly expensive with a glass of red approaching £10!)

What was particularly frustrating was the large round tables which were just that bit too big to chat comfortably to your other guests especially over the continual noise of the place. The tick box paper ordering system just doesn't work in my opinion & as for service I lost count of the amount of times I saw my uncle or aunt trying to catch the attention of a waiter as they whipped past like grease lightening. It's very much a 'manager with headset milling about' type of a place.

My advice spend a little more & book a table at the very excellent Yauatcha just around the corner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonniePolyester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Pong Soho also viewed

 

Been to Ping Pong Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing