We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing quality, enjoyed the linchtime menu”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Ranked #36 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $188
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Located in Fitzrovia, the heart of the West End, Pied a Terre is one of the capital's most established fine dining, Michelin-starred restaurants. Although established in 1991, it has been under the guidance of David Moore since 1998 and has gone on to gain some of the highest gastronomic awards and accolades possible. Beautifully appointed and radiating modest quality, the restaurant is charmingly intimate. As you expect, the service is professional yet discreet in order to maintain a relaxed atmosphere. For larger parties, the second floor private dining room seats up to 13 guests and comes with butler style service at no extra cost. Diners can also enjoy the exclusive bar on the first floor for drinks and canapes or exclusive wine tasting events. The cuisine is both simple and inventive, with care and attention to detail as the focus. Combine this dining experience with the outstanding selection of wines, and you have a match made in heaven.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing quality, enjoyed the linchtime menu”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I went here to enjoy the lunchtime offer; two courses for £27.50, which is the best value we could find for a Michelin star restaurant. we received 2 canapés before our meal which were lovely, and there is a variety of freshly baked bread to choose from which is offered consistently throughout the meal. The starter and main were both delicious, very small portions but the quality of the meat and the flavours certainly made up for the size! To be honest after this point I wasn't really full, however we chose to have dessert of the day for £6.00, received a pre-dessert and then petits fours with our tea, and after this I did leave feeling very full! The service is great, friendly and professional and overall we had a wonderful lunch, we are now considering coming back for one of the tasting menus!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks Lucy – you should definitely come back for one of the tasting menus, it’s a lovely experience. Look forward seeing you again soon, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    139
    64
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a 7 dish tasting menu with acompanying wine menu. While the food and the wines were superp, it was the waiters that really made the entire visit stand out. We were quizzed about the wines and just had a fantastic evening. The waiter even walked us to a well-hidden cocktail bar when we asked for a nearby place for pre-dinner drinks. We will be back another time. Pricy, but worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
So glad you enjoyed and it’s always nice for our front of house staff to read these compliments. I look forward to your next visit, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stunning Food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

First class dining experience, we ate in the main room which seemed to have a much better atmosphere than the smaller room to the front and opted for the two courses for £65 rather than the £105 taster menu. However, in reality we were treated to a taster menu all the same, with wonderful oyster and croquet hors d'ouvres before our starters of lobster and prawns. Next was a small mushroom and pasta soup accompanied by an Alsace wine followed by our mains of beautifully cooked and rich beef, all finished off with a selection of miniature chocolates and desserts.

We treated ourselves to a very pleasant bottle of 2002 1er cru Beaune, preceded by a couple of glasses each of a Santorini white.

The service was excellent, attentive yet not overly intrusive, and will certainly visit again in the future. Not cheap (£320 for the two of us) but quality!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your wonderful feedback (very good wine choice by the way). I hope to welcome you back in the near future, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“10 course vegetarian taster extravaganza!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Each year me and my vegetarian friend go out to lunch for a birthday treat. We decided to try this place because I'd read about the 10 course taster menu and it sounded really good. From the moment we arrived the staff could see how much we 'd been looking forward to this. The service was very good from endless olives brought to the table, a constant supply of delicious breads and each course being a mouthful of heaven. We cleared every plate we had and when the petit fours came along, we'd eaten them before the coffee was poured so they brought more. Each course was small but then they should be when there are 10 of them! and we were completely full at the end of the meal. So much so, we walked for an hour to get back to Liverpool Street Station just to let our lunch go down. We're greedy and we know it but we are real foodies and this was a real foodies kind of place! It's expensive but you know it will be if you're going somewhere with 2 Michelin stars so no complaints. A real treat and we'll probably go back next year!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
What a lovely review – thank you. I’m glad you chose us for the birthday meal, all our menus have a vegetarian version including our lunch menu so I hope we can tempt you back sooner, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a great little gem in London. We reserved the 10 course tasting menu with wine flight to accompany. Food was fantastic, as was the service. Each course was a delight and they even swapped one of the tuna dishes to a scallop dish (which we both shared of). The staff were excellent and the sommelier had us guessing where the wine was from rather than just telling us. We were seated at the front which is a little bit small/close, but this did not detract from the wonderful time and meal that we had

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
The 10 course tasting menu is a wonderful experience and you can really take the time to enjoy Marcus’ creativity as well as an amazing selection wines. It’s great to hear you enjoyed it so much. I hope to welcome you back soon – next time mention to reservations that you prefer not to sit by the front and we will always try our best to meet your requirements, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing