We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food, though I would have liked more taste variety”
Review of Pied a Terre

Pied a Terre
Ranked #36 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $188
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Located in Fitzrovia, the heart of the West End, Pied a Terre is one of the capital's most established fine dining, Michelin-starred restaurants. Although established in 1991, it has been under the guidance of David Moore since 1998 and has gone on to gain some of the highest gastronomic awards and accolades possible. Beautifully appointed and radiating modest quality, the restaurant is charmingly intimate. As you expect, the service is professional yet discreet in order to maintain a relaxed atmosphere. For larger parties, the second floor private dining room seats up to 13 guests and comes with butler style service at no extra cost. Diners can also enjoy the exclusive bar on the first floor for drinks and canapes or exclusive wine tasting events. The cuisine is both simple and inventive, with care and attention to detail as the focus. Combine this dining experience with the outstanding selection of wines, and you have a match made in heaven.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, though I would have liked more taste variety”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

An excellent dining experience.

Service - as you'd expect from an establishment such as this the service was of a good standard. They were attentive but did not disturb us at random moments. The only sad point was I had taken my wife there for her birthday and had therefore ask them to add some candles or make an effort... they didn't do it, may be they forgot but to make it worse we witnessed them do it for two other tables during our evening.

Food - excellent, the meals cannot be faulted. We took the chefs tasting menu which was good, though we felt there could have been more variety in terms of flavours. Could be our palette but some of the dishes tasted rather similar or at least where not hugely distinguishable/memorable. Albeit, what was served was good.

Price - considering the standard of this place the price is fair.

All in all a good experience, though I doubt we'll be returning soon given it was my wife's birthday and the 'forgetting' the candles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Jason, thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you didn’t feel enough effort was made for your wife’s birthday, I do apologise for this error on our part. I am pleased that this didn’t affect your evening completely and you still went on to describe it as ‘an excellent dining experience’. Regards, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    139
    64
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
302 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Absolutely Flawless”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A subtle entrance to a small intimate restaurant. A warm welcome from the receptionist, and given a choice of table. We decided to go into the rear of the restaurant, where twelve tables were beautifully laid to order.

Wow what a choice of food and wine! We decided that we had to go for the ten course chef's menu - and boy we weren't disappointed. Every course, tasted of heaven, with a real depth of flavour, and every part of every course was cooked perfectly. Highlights included, langoustines with suckling pig, a delicate monkfish with spiced squash and mussels, and the star of the show roasted saddle of hare served with a sweet onion tart.

The meal was finished off with Pettis fours, all handmade and included a chocolate shell filled with passion fruit puree.

The sommelier provided excellent suggestions on the wine, taking time to listen to our likes and avoids, and in the end we went for something a bit different. White, a Lebonese Chateau Ka 2011, Red, a Brazilian Quinta do seival 2006, and a desert wine which we left to the sommelier to select and he went for a South African Mulderbosch Savingon Blanc.

The staff in this resturant were professional, friendly and provided excellent service from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

Pied a Terre is exceptional, and I would highly recommend this resturant to anyone who wants a fine dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoutemasterCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi RoutemasterCambridge, thank you for your comments and it’s great to hear how much you enjoyed the tasting menu. I hope to welcome you back soon, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Flawless service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Small intimate restaurant,we came for a 4 course tasting menu ,small portions but lots of them.it was all very tasty and well presented, lots of extra dishes clearly all made on the premises,the service was overly good. The bread rolls were the best,we had 5 each!
Come for an enjoyable intimate evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josepht305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi josepht305, thank you for your review and I’m pleased you enjoyed the meal – including the bread. We’ll pass the compliments on to the kitchen! We update our dishes regularly to adapt to the best seasonal produce so you’ll have to come back soon to try our new dishes. David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pied à Terre is probably my favourite restaurant in London.

I took a close friend of mine for birthday dinner there knowing that it would be an exceptional experience and we both enjoyed a most memorable evening.

The 10 course tasting menus are well worth thinking about beyond all other menus. Each of the two menus are a journey of culinary delights. We chose the slightly cheaper menu solely because some of the items appealed more than others.

The meal was absolutely stunning with highlights including:

(1) a chestnut and juniper gnocchi with chestnut velouté that was rich creamy and a delightful way to start on a cold autumn night.
(2) halibut with a carrot and anise purée which had scared me off at first (how do you incorporate anise into carrot!) but which was subtle with great complimentary depth of flavour
(3) honey and lemon thyme Duck with prawn dumpling and steamed choi sum which was an interesting Asian/European themed dish which worked beautifully together
(4) Valrhona chocolate crème with caramel sauce which was a decadently rich dessert that capped off an amazing evening.

As usual Mathieu (the sommelier - and one of the best in London!) was absolutely fantastic with wine choices. A complex half bottle of Italian wine matched perfectly with the opening courses whilst a surprisingly light and fruity 1990 Bordeaux (my initial concerns evaporated as it paired beautifully with the halibut and the duck and then made the cheese course special) was followed by an exceptional journey into the unknown matching a dry madeira with the chocolate crème.

If you are lucky enough to sit in the small dining room at the front of the restaurant you have the added bonus of feeling as if you are dining in someone's private dining room. It enhanced an otherwise delightful evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiceyMorris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi DiceyMorris1978, thank you for your detailed feedback including your compliments to Mathieu and it’s lovely to hear you think of us as your favourite restaurant in London. I hope to welcome you back soon, David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Just how many years has Pied a Terre been delivering such an excellent dining experience? It's great that you can always return to this restaurant confident that it will deliver at least as good as experience as on your last visit. So many just come and go.

Pied a Terre remains very French. The menu is excellent offering a range of tastes to satisfy different budgets. This was a business lunch and we all chose to eat off the excellent value fixed price lunch menu. A delicious mackerel started followed by cod for some, and pork for the others. Beautiful.

Service is polite and professional. And despite being very small, Pied a Terre is sufficiently quiet and intimate to allow for a sensible business discussion or a romantic dinner for two.

Oh, and there is a rather serious, multi-volume wine list if you have the time to enjoy it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pied R, Owner at Pied a Terre, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Christopher, thank you for your feedback. We actually opened our doors 21 years ago – how time flies when you’re having fun! I hope to see you again soon, maybe for dinner next time so you can enjoy the wine list. David Moore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pied a Terre also viewed

 

Been to Pied a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing