We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average restaurant but pricey” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orso

Orso
Ranked #1,816 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Transit: Covent Garden
Description: The finest Italian cuisine comes to Covent Garden. Opened in October 1985, Orso is a wonderful restaurant in the heart of London's West End. From the beginning, the aim was to bring authentic Italian cuisine to Covent Garden and Orso delivers. Orso takes pride in using only the freshest and finest ingredients such as extra virgin olive oil, arugula, puntarelle, porcini mushrooms, buffalo mozzarella and white truffles, when in season and sourced in Italy. But it is not just about the ingredients; each meal is prepared to perfection, served on hand-painted Italian tableware designed by Designers Guild, and accompanied by a selection of fine Italian wines. Orso is the perfect destination for the London diner, offering bustling but attentive service, a lively atmosphere and a tempting menu.
Oxford
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average restaurant but pricey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a handy restaurant in the heart of London. We visited on an August Sunday afternoon and we were pleased to see it had a children's menu. Food was fairly average but we were surprised when the bill arrived as it was 50% higher than expected. Over £8 for a glass of wine (once the 12.5% service charge has been added) and £4 for an orange juice. Even the kids menu is over £10 with service charge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    191
    86
    28
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I returned to this restaurant after a few years and was pleasantly surprised. The food was as good as I remember. The garlic and rosemary flatbread is gorgeous, as was the fried zucchini. Main course of linguine with crabmeat was excellent. I ordered a small portion and glad I did, as it was plenty. My friend had ice cream but I could not manage any more. The only downside was the service, I found the waitresses to be very surly and unhelpful. We were then charged for three coffees and we only had one. Atmosphere was as I remembered it with some of the diners having just finished working in the local theatres.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This please has real Italian food with real Italian people and a real Italian atmosphere to match. The food was delicious, and not what you get anywhere else. And to round all off the drinks were wonderful witha wide range of cocktails and San Pelligrino water and juice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Look for another Italian!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Fantastic service! But that's about it! Starters, calamaris and goatcheese with valnuts - below average. Main course, speciality of the day - risotto with aspargus and peas - no taste whatsoever! Desert very nice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing West End restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The menu looked varied and inviting. I ordered the Swordfish in breadcrumbs which was delivered worryingly quickly. Very little taste, could have been anything in breadcrumbs and the spinach was like a wet rag also tasteless. Wine was good but not cheap. The meal was average but poor for the price.
Something else annoying is when the waiters took finished plates away while others at the table were still eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orso also viewed

 

Been to Orso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing