We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gwych, excellent”

Odette's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Odette's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #611 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest Tube Station is Chalk Farm
Description: Odette's Restaurant & Bar is one of London's original dining rooms having opened in 1978, and it is still an acclaimed restaurant now owned by Welsh chef Bryn Williams, set amongst a parade of mid-Victorian shops and cafes in beautiful Primrose Hill. Bryn's modern British menu is an innovative marriage of textures and flavours that reflect his personality and heritage: dishes are created using the finest produce sourced from his native Wales and the rest of the UK. Lunch and dinner is served six days a week (Tuesday to Sunday)in the Odette's split level dining room, walled garden and terraced seating area.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gwych, excellent”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our 5th visit to Odettes and we weren't disappointed again. It just gets better.
Can't wait to return in July. A great day trip from Cardiff.
Please can Bryn be there next time! Thank you for your hospitality. Great staff, food and company.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    85
    43
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Elegant neighbourhood restaurant worth the detour”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Odette's is a familiar fixture for the well-heeled residents of Primrose Hill. But for those of us who come from less salubrious London post codes, there was a bit of question mark about whether the quality/price balance would be bearable. It's out of the way for a West Londoner but it was the choice of my companion.

What a pleasant surprise! The fixed price lunch menu was absolutely affordable (well, if you have a reasonable income) and the food was very well-executed indeed. The eclectic Modern European menu is completely understated and unflashy. For example, 'slow-cooked egg on crushed potatoes with truffle shavings' was an egg cooked in a water bath whose egg and yolk miraculously end up with the same consistency. Very high-end comfort food. The tortellini exploded with Parmesan cream and the Cornish fish stew was silky smooth, each piece of fish individually cooked.

Other reviewers have found the decor and service lacking. Even on a miserable rainy day, I found the classic dark green interior very relaxing. And the service was absolutely correct - professional and not obsequious. And what was particularly reassuring was the clientele of Saturday locals, shaking off their umbrellas, attracted by the excellent value three-course lunch, including wine and coffee for £29.75, who knew they wouldn't be disappointed.

As French Michelin guides say, this neighbourhood restaurant 'vaut le détouŕ!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tangoclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I went to Odette's with my friend on a Saturday night and both had the tasting menu.

I had the meat my friend the vegetarian.

We both absolutely loved the food and the only thing stopping Odette's getting 5 stars was the service wasn't good enough for that quality meal.

I will be going back very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 007matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw london
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Visited this restaurant for the first time today and was rather disappointed. It promised a good meal according to the many reviews. However, it did not deliver. It was a miserable day, and the decor in the restaurant was not much better - very gloomy. The set lunch menu had only 2 choices for each course. The slow cooked duck egg starter had rather too much potato; the confit of duck with barley and parsnips was average at best whilst the deconstructed lemon curd and berry pavlova was a pleasant finale to a forgettable meal. The service was good but that would not get me back to this restaurant - there are far too many much better set lunch menus available in London.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny1794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Haven't been to Odettes for a long time and my husband and I took our niece for dinner. Decor bad and service not good. Waited a long time for drinks and had to constantly ask for water to be replenished. None of us enjoyed our meal and I have never had cold scallops before and it was a tasteless dish. Seasonal vegetables consisted of cabbage which they said would be cooked in duck fat or butter but agreed to do it in olive oil for us. The only good thing about the food was the Jaffa cake desert. It used to be such a lovely restaurant and we would not return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odette's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Odette's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing