We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santes Dwynwen Day heaven”

Odette's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Odette's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #586 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest Tube Station is Chalk Farm
Description: Odette's Restaurant & Bar is one of London's original dining rooms having opened in 1978, and it is still an acclaimed restaurant now owned by Welsh chef Bryn Williams, set amongst a parade of mid-Victorian shops and cafes in beautiful Primrose Hill. Bryn's modern British menu is an innovative marriage of textures and flavours that reflect his personality and heritage: dishes are created using the finest produce sourced from his native Wales and the rest of the UK. Lunch and dinner is served six days a week (Tuesday to Sunday)in the Odette's split level dining room, walled garden and terraced seating area.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Santes Dwynwen Day heaven”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

For Dwynwen's day romance Odette provided an absolute dining and tasting delight. We chose the tasting menu with wines and was astounded by the food and service for the whole evening. Probably one of the best meals we have ever shared in a lovely styled restaurant which has a cosy ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    85
    43
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We'd read some good reviews about Odette's on various occasions and were less familiar with the restaurants scene around Primrose Hill. As a result we decided to try them out while they were offering a special Valentine's tasting menu.

Although the name of the restaurant does give it away, I hadn't realised that there was a proper bar area connected to Odette's, located in the basement. And I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by decoration, dark and soulful, with different corners where you can snuggle away during the warm winter months with a nice cocktail in hand.

The restaurant itself is located on the ground floor. When we visited Odette's we decided to try the Valentine's tasting course, which consisted of:
-Tuna tartare, rillettes, chargrilled (7.5/10)
-Roast beef sirloin, hash brown, wild mushroom (7.5/10)
-St marcellin cheese, celery, apricot (7.5/10)
-Chocolate Souffle, parfait, mousse (7.5/10)

The cooking at Odette's is off high standard, that much is clear. Also, the attention given to detail by the staff is good and the matching wine flight worked well with the dishes.

The total bill at Odette's came to £150 (including service charge, one wine flight to go with the tasting menu, one mocktail, a bottle of water and 1 glass of wine). Taking all into account Odette's is a good alternative when you're in the area and looking for a good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and food in a lovely villiage”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Never been to Primrose Hill before. Busy restaurant for a Tuesday night in January, but felt really cosy and service and food were excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb food in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a fantastic meal, each course got better. The service was impeccable. We received A warm welcome on a cold evening. The waiters were formal but relaxed, nothing was any trouble . We shall certainly be back .

Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a great meal, service was very good, comfortable and relaxed setting, good wine list, priced very well, and the food was exceptional, especially the crayfish lasagne, make sure you visit, same level as a Michelin star restaurant but half the price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odette's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Odette's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing