We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good.”
Review of Mr Chow

Mr Chow
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 10/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #18,761 of 24,177 Restaurants in London
Price range: $41 - $110
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge
Transit: Knightsbridge Underground Station Major bus routes.
Description: Mr Chow opened on Valentines Day 1968. Designed by Michael Chow, it remains one of the the most uniquely beautiful restaurants in London. The atmosphere is one of relaxed luxury with original works of art, lacquered walls and white marble floors. Mr Chow serves a combination of original,authentic Beijing recipes together with new innovative dishes, specialities such as Green Prawns, Ma Mignon and Mr Chow noodles were all created by our award winning chefs. Also on the menu is our superlative Beijing Duck and a variety of exciting vegetarian dishes. During the evening, as entertainment, a chef performs the skilful art of hand-pulled Beijing noodles. Known as an institution in London MR CHOW draws generations of the young and fashionable by serving consistently excellent food, prepared by executive chef John Wu and his team. "All of it impeccable, great, tasty, a triumph! That was a good meal to put it mildly" Michael Winner The Sunday Times. AVERAGE PRICE DINNER-L60+
Reviewed July 7, 2016

I think this place was too hyped up so my expectations were too high. Food was very good. Layout is strange. Long and narrow with an upstairs and downstairs. They fill the downstairs first so our table up top felt too quiet and sparse until other guests started to arrive.

Service and food were quite good, but a little too fancy for my taste when eating asian cuisine.

Not great, not terrible, but not what I thought I was going experience. Expensive.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 212 of 499 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2016

Not sure if this was just a tourist trap or a restaurant for people who have never eaten Chinese food... but dear Lord, I've never eaten worse, and the pretentious air made it all the more galling. Service was lovely (which is the only reason I upped it a star), but seriously, not a single dish was better than any run-of-the-mill take-out Chinese. Making it even worse was the cliquish atmosphere. The manager was very keen to lavishly greet people he knew; he spent our entire dinner loudly chatting up the table next to us, including "funny" stories about "Americans" who'd come to dine there. If that wasn't uncomfortable enough for us, his audience, a loud brash American herself, then accosted us to tell us she knew we were new because we "used the menu" and introduced herself to us. And apologized for our being from Boston. And told us how relieved we must be to be somewhere better. Alrighty then. Totally worth $125 per person. Is it too late to go back down to one star....? Yikes. And I'm too tired now to explain their complicated minimum expenditure plan. Just... don't go. So lame. In every way.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Racwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Following a disaster at the neighbouring Buddha Bar, Mr Chow saved the night and my girlfriend's birthday celebration.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

London is very expensive and so is Mr. Chow. I had hot & sour soup and chicken with tender greens and it was quite good, but comparable to fare at less expensive venues. The waitstaff was friendly and reasonably attentive. There was a wait for a table after 8 on a Thursday night.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank PATraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Food: nothing special. The variety is fine but all the dishes were served at the same time which makes it impossible to eat the food warm. Additionally, it makes feel the table with no space at all. Mr Chow's dishes have definitely worsen overtime (also compared with NY's Mr Chow).

Service: definitely something to be improved. Although the advice was initially OK, the feeling was that the service was understaffed. It was really difficult ordering extra drinks and, then, getting them.

Price: completely overpriced considering the quality of the food, the service and the environment. Additionally, there were no acceptable prices for wines (overpriced).

Location: we sat in the top floor with loud music in the background that made it difficult to have a proper conversation.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 312alexv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Chow also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mr Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.