We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chef have to try more”
Review of Moro Restaurant

Moro Restaurant
Ranked #887 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: It might be one of the hippest venues in one of the hippest parts of the capital but this Clerkenwell restaurant still manages to be relaxed and more concerned with good food than being trendy. The restaurant’s décor with its polished wooden floors, long zinc bar and open view to the kitchen and its charcoal grill and wood-burning oven is functional but welcoming. The Moorish cuisine complete with subtle European influence is every bit as striking as it was when the restaurant opened its doors nearly ten years ago. Tapas served all day at the bar. Reservations taken by phone and directly from our website.PLEASE NOTE - Moro restaurant is now open seven days a week. Please refer to our website for correct opening hours
Larisa, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The chef have to try more”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I don't know how the clients(it was full) pay to eat in this restaurant, which I was visited after reccomendation. I tried five plates of the menu among them and grilled lamp(what more simply than that?) with mixed salad.It was untasty at all! I think the chef must to qualified on more palate experiences.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karatsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    252
    93
    61
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Service & Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service, food and atmosphere in this restaurant were superb on a visit last night for my mum's birthday. From the moment we walked in they made us feel like valued and special customers. Having always wanted to go there, we weren't disappointed and it lives up to the reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“To Moro To Moro, I love Ya, To Moro .....!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Every time I head towards Moro Restaurant in Clerkenwell, I feel the urge to wave my arms and sing like a Broadway hopeful - yes, that's how much I look forward to lunch or dinner there. So when we snagged an outside table for lunch on a sunny afternoon last week, hubby and I felt inordinately pleased. There is always a buzz at Moro and staff are well informed and appear to genuinely love the food themselves. On our most recent visit, we tried tasting samples of 3 dry sherries and 3 somewhat sweeter sherries (a great way to enjoy a variety of sherries at £7 and £12 respectively) to accompany our food. A special treat was sea bass cooked in the wood burning ovens. The flavours are clean and exciting across all the dishes and sides are excellent too. However, while I am not usually a big fan of dessert, there is one dessert in Moro that I regard as most heavenly! It's the rose and cardamom ice cream - and this is one ice cream that I think you will either try once and want to eat every day for the rest of your life or alternatively (like my hubby), you will put your spoon down after one mouthful and say - "interesting flavour - where's the chocolate cake?" The fragrance and perfumey flavour of this luscious ice cream makes me close my eyes and (in my head) sing arias ... be sure to try it! For as long as Moro keeps turning out exquisite food at this Moorish Mecca in Clerkenwell, I will be a devotee!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting but left feeling hungry”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Interesting food, shame about the portion sizes. The tapas looked good, shame you couldn't have it at the table, which was a la carte only

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everyone must go!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first review I have ever left for a restaurant and felt that I just had to. With only two of us there to eat we had a fantastic time. The food was excellent as was the wine to compliment it. Perfect portion sizes and no excessive waiting between courses despite how busy and bustling the place was. What really made the night for me was our Waitress - Peer (I hope I have spelt that right). Not only was she friendly, helpful and attentive when it came to choosing the food and wine, she ensured the meal was perfect for the two of us and topped it off with a free dessert as it was my birthday. I will be recommending this place to everyone and will certainly be going back there!
Thank you for such a great birthday meal Moro!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing