We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic flavours”
Review of Moro Restaurant

Moro Restaurant
Ranked #776 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: It might be one of the hippest venues in one of the hippest parts of the capital but this Clerkenwell restaurant still manages to be relaxed and more concerned with good food than being trendy. The restaurant’s décor with its polished wooden floors, long zinc bar and open view to the kitchen and its charcoal grill and wood-burning oven is functional but welcoming. The Moorish cuisine complete with subtle European influence is every bit as striking as it was when the restaurant opened its doors nearly ten years ago. Tapas served all day at the bar. Reservations taken by phone and directly from our website.PLEASE NOTE - Moro restaurant is now open seven days a week. Please refer to our website for correct opening hours
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic flavours”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Delightful staff, great service and excellent food. Eaten at Moro several times. Never disappointed and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    246
    90
    60
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good birthday lunch”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked for a birthday celebration lunch which went very well: excellent food - Spanish with a Moorish twist, attentive service, a birthday candle in the dessert, £115 for two courses for two including an aperitif, a glass of wine with the meal and a glass of dessert wine each. An enjoyable experience all round.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibliophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredibly rude service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have visited Moro a couple of times in the past and each time I have very much enjoyed the experience. I visited the restaurant on Friday evening with with a couple of friends - we shared some good wine and tapas, but unfortunately our whole experience was ruined by the extremely rude and arrogant service from the staff.

When we arrived at the restaurant we were reluctantly seated at the bar and then had our order taken by a very surly man. Not once during the couple of hours we were there were we asked if we would like to order any more food (which we would have done) or any more drinks, and each time we wanted to order anything we had to flag a waiter down and were made to feel that we were a major inconvenience. We then had our glasses and remaining tapas (which we had not quite finished) swiftly cleared away, again, without being asked if we would like to order anything else, and were told by an officious waiter that he was ‘going to need the bar space back’ and were presented with our bill.

It’s such a shame that good food and wine served in a great dining space can be so totally ruined by the attitude of the staff Moro employs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A totally excellent Sunday lunch. Wonderful food.... excellent service from staff who really do give a damn. Reasonable bill. What more do you want?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelhegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean tapas”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We say “Ole”, you say “Spain”. We say “Spanish food”, you say “I want Moro”? If so, we would tend to agree with you.

Moro is one of those restaurants that seems to have been around forever (opened its doors in 1997) and is loved by so many Londoners. Islington / Clerkenwell is fast becoming a go-to place on the foodie culinary map, but Moro was an Islington based destination-restaurant before the likes of John Salt and Naamyaa Cafe decided to grace the area with their presence.

Moro is located on a very nice stretch of a cobbled pedestrian street (Exmouth market). Given its location near, for instance Sadler’s Wells theatre (about 5 mins walk), it is also perfect for a pre / post theatre dining venue. The place is effortlessly cool with it’s relaxed waiters showcasing their tatted sleeves and is generally heaving (even on Mondays). It is therefore advised that you book ahead of coming.

The food at Moro is based around Southern Mediterranean tastes (Spanish and North African based cuisine of when the Moors ruled large parts of Spain; hence the name Moro) and unlike typical tapas restaurants Moro offers an extensive list of main dishes. The restaurant has a bar area and a formal dining area. If you sit behind the bar counter, you can enjoy both the bar tapas dishes and the formal menu, whereas if you sit in the formal dining area the menu is restricted to the formal menu.

During our latest visit to Moro we sat behind the counter and we tried the following dishes (mix from the tapas menu and formal menu):
-Butifarra sausage alioli (8/10)
-Babaganoush (8/10)
-Almonds (7/10)
-Pimientos de padron (7/10)
-Maize kernels (7.5/10)
-Boquerones (8/10)
-Seafood brik with harissa (8/10)
-Butifarra sausage with trompettes de la mort and white beans (8.5/10)
-Slow-cooked artichokes with chard, chopped lemon, olives and goats cheese (8/10)
-Wood roasted pork with wilted escarole salad, pomegranate and migas (7/10)
-Charcoal grilled lamb chops with pistachio and orange zest pilav, seasoned yoghurt and cabbage, carrot and chilli salad with mint (7/10)

The total bill at Moro came to £120 (including service charge, 2 mocktails, a bottle of water and a glas of wine).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Moro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing