We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mediterranean tapas”
Review of Moro Restaurant

Moro Restaurant
Ranked #775 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: It might be one of the hippest venues in one of the hippest parts of the capital but this Clerkenwell restaurant still manages to be relaxed and more concerned with good food than being trendy. The restaurant’s décor with its polished wooden floors, long zinc bar and open view to the kitchen and its charcoal grill and wood-burning oven is functional but welcoming. The Moorish cuisine complete with subtle European influence is every bit as striking as it was when the restaurant opened its doors nearly ten years ago. Tapas served all day at the bar. Reservations taken by phone and directly from our website.PLEASE NOTE - Moro restaurant is now open seven days a week. Please refer to our website for correct opening hours
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean tapas”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We say “Ole”, you say “Spain”. We say “Spanish food”, you say “I want Moro”? If so, we would tend to agree with you.

Moro is one of those restaurants that seems to have been around forever (opened its doors in 1997) and is loved by so many Londoners. Islington / Clerkenwell is fast becoming a go-to place on the foodie culinary map, but Moro was an Islington based destination-restaurant before the likes of John Salt and Naamyaa Cafe decided to grace the area with their presence.

Moro is located on a very nice stretch of a cobbled pedestrian street (Exmouth market). Given its location near, for instance Sadler’s Wells theatre (about 5 mins walk), it is also perfect for a pre / post theatre dining venue. The place is effortlessly cool with it’s relaxed waiters showcasing their tatted sleeves and is generally heaving (even on Mondays). It is therefore advised that you book ahead of coming.

The food at Moro is based around Southern Mediterranean tastes (Spanish and North African based cuisine of when the Moors ruled large parts of Spain; hence the name Moro) and unlike typical tapas restaurants Moro offers an extensive list of main dishes. The restaurant has a bar area and a formal dining area. If you sit behind the bar counter, you can enjoy both the bar tapas dishes and the formal menu, whereas if you sit in the formal dining area the menu is restricted to the formal menu.

During our latest visit to Moro we sat behind the counter and we tried the following dishes (mix from the tapas menu and formal menu):
-Butifarra sausage alioli (8/10)
-Babaganoush (8/10)
-Almonds (7/10)
-Pimientos de padron (7/10)
-Maize kernels (7.5/10)
-Boquerones (8/10)
-Seafood brik with harissa (8/10)
-Butifarra sausage with trompettes de la mort and white beans (8.5/10)
-Slow-cooked artichokes with chard, chopped lemon, olives and goats cheese (8/10)
-Wood roasted pork with wilted escarole salad, pomegranate and migas (7/10)
-Charcoal grilled lamb chops with pistachio and orange zest pilav, seasoned yoghurt and cabbage, carrot and chilli salad with mint (7/10)

The total bill at Moro came to £120 (including service charge, 2 mocktails, a bottle of water and a glas of wine).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    243
    90
    58
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous find - quickly becoming a favourite!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First of all, we had a big group which included children and toddlers. The restaurant was so accommodating of us and the service was absolutely friendly but professional.

Moro has a great atmosphere, which is trendy and has a real buzz. The bar as you enter is nice if you are waiting for a table. From start to finish, the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. I really can't stress that point enough. The food also, is wonderful. The menu changes every 2 weeks, however, if you get the chance to have the Seafood brik with harissa, the wood-fired pork or the yoghurt cake - they are HIGHLY recommended.

Absolutely amazing experience and not expensive for the standard of food and service that you get. Will be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Brilliant Experience”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

From the warm greeting we received upon arrival through the friendly farewells, Moro provided an exceptional dining experience. The food is creative and fresh, the service, knowledgeable and gracious, and the room comfortable with a frisson of excitement in the air. This is the neighborhood’s go-to place for celebrations. Casual and elegant, Moro is the kind of place that makes one come up with new events to celebrate.

I started with, the seafood brick a slightly decadent combination of fish and prawns wrapped in a phillo-like dough. It was buttery and rich. My husband had the slow-cooked artichokes with chard that are in a lemony goat cheese sauce. For our mains, I had the lamb accompanied by a pistachio pilaf with a side of a cumin-scented slaw. The lamb was cooked perfectly and was allowed to stand out as the star of the dish. My husband ordered the wood roasted pork that we both proclaimed the best pork we have ever eaten. It was cooked perfectly with a subtle smoky flavor and arrived with the skin crackling on top-a little difficult to cut, but worth it. The accompanying migas were toasty and buttery and a perfect complement. We shared the yoghurt cake with pistachios and pomegranate that was what you always want tres leches cake to taste like but never does. The pistachios added a savory crunch. The wine list has lots of interesting and fairly priced selections.

Prices are very fair, especially considering the priceless experience. Make reservations early: There was only 6pm Friday booking remaining three weeks in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacyabags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utterly brilliant.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A group of four of us were lucky enough to get a table at Moro. We had the table in the window and from the very beginning everything was simply excellent. The food was, of course, the main reason for visiting - having long used the cookbooks it was great to experience the true heart and soul of Sam & Sam's restaurant. We had between us a superb three courses. Artichoke with citrus and goats cheese starter was mouthwateringly tasty, my friends had the birk and a sausage starter and they both were impressed. Mains were the pork, a lamb dish and I went for the chicken which again was utterly brilliant. I usually try to avoid chicken but it was cooked to perfection with a devine yogurt and cashew sauce. Just perfect. Cheeses and ice cream were also well appreciated as was the dessert wine.

A big mention must also go to the staff who were welcoming, expertly attentive and very knowledgable. Couldn't have asked for better.

All in all, Moro is definately a place to try. We will be going back without doubt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CylonJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Shopping in London”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have a copy of Casa Moro and have found the recipes to be good. I spend most of the summer in Spain and buy local produce to enhance the recipes. My daughter knowing I liked the Moro books booked a table has a surprise. We really enjoyed the experience. We ordered a seafood starter which was delicious followed by lamb with citrus rice and harrisa vegetables which worked really well. We ordered house wine which was palatable and to finish we shared a Spanish cheese board. My daughter wanted to try some sherry and wasn't sure which one to try. The waiter kindly provided 3 glasses of sherry and explained the merits of each. The service was good and Sam was on view calling the shots in the kitchen. I will return to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moro Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Moro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing