We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday evening enjoyment”
Review of Momo

Momo
Ranked #710 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $130
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Kick back, relax and capture the mood of the moment. We are a cafe and a restaurant, a la Marrakesh-souk-meets-Parisian-troquet style! Savour our traditional Moroccan mint tea whilst sharing our authentic mezze either on our terrace or inside our Mo Cafe... Our lovely terrace is available for bookings in the daytime for lunch or brunch, and is available on a walk-in basis in the evenings.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday evening enjoyment”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Momo is a cosy, vibrant restaurant well worth a visit. Some may think it expensive, but like most places in London that's influenced by the drinks you may have more than the food so choose wisely. Food is authentic and very flavoursome, service great and of course fun once a birthday is celebrated (be it yours or another guest!). The decor is very in keeping with north Africa giving it a real feel of being away from the streets of London. You should have a great experience here, be it as a group or couple.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiV26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    474
    145
    81
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“North African Food at its Best”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I've had good North African food before, but this was excellent. The restaurant is a little off the beaten path-off of Regent in the Picadilly Circus area. It's down a little alleyway that has a great atmosphere (dangling lights and hanging plants). The restaurant has a definite North African (Moroccan?) theme. The servers are attentive and obviously like their job. The music helps with the mood. The food has wonderful flavor. My friends shared a chicken dish (which was enough for three to four people) and said it was delicious and not too spicy. I had a vegetarian dish with lentil soup (there was an unexpected hint of cinnamon in the soup). The bill for three of us came to about £70, which converts to about $120 or so, so a bit pricy, but if you're on vacation, I think it's ok to splurge a little on a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds Yorkshire England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Felt ripped off!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went to Momo for Meze on Easter Monday afternoon.
Wasn't able to book a table so just took our chance but got a table and browsed the menu. Few beers and a meze between the two of us.
The Meze included 5 dishes, we fancied 6 so asked to pay for one as an extra, when we got the bill they put the most expensive one as our extra. Altough it was only a couple of quid i did feel cheated!
Besides that, the food was excellent and well served and reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimleeds_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tasty Tagine”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Some reviews (on here and other sites) have criticised service - I can only assume the restaurant has read them and acted.

Service was excellent on a busy Bank Holiday visit. The staff we came across were charming and prompt throughout.

Food was good, not cheap, but very tasty. Care needed on the wine list - some reasonable prices, some not.

Tables are a little close together and those in the middle felt the need to apologise a lot every time they got up.

Loved the Moroccan atmosphere and would happily revisit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farnham_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant, delicious food, excellent staff!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The title says it all, we've been before and the standard of cuisine,environment and staff is consistently good. Would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeansarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momo also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
 
London, England
 

Been to Momo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing