We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Indian food”

Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #709 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Transit: London underground: Leicester Square; Piccadilly Circus; Charing Cross.
Description: Serving innovative Indian cuisine in an elegant and stylish setting, Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar offers a unique dining experience in the heart of the West End and Theatreland, just minutes from Trafalgar Square and Piccadilly Circus. Since opening in 2003 Mint Leaf has established itself as one of London's finest contemporary Indian restaurants. The large and versatile restaurant which can accommodate up to 220 guests seated, is sectioned by dark American walnut wood paneling, creating intimate spaces and semi-private areas for groups. Sink into comfortable sofas in the luxurious bar space and explore the selection of classic and exotic cocktails with over 500 spirits to choose from.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classy Indian food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I went for dinner at the Mint Leaf for a nice set menu offer, after some time I had not been there. Last time I dined there I was not too impressed with the quality of food and service. This time the dishes were inspired by some classy Indian tradition, very well presented and served in a discreet ambience. An experience to be repeated. A good option for pre-theatre/cinema in the Haymarket area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erodotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    325
    127
    54
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Luscious luncheon”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The two course set menu was very good. The salmon tikka is great and the lamb shekel kebab most tasty. We both had fish curry with jasmin rice and a side. All food very tasty and slightly hot chili wise but very flavoursome. Smart definitely, not for kids, good service and all rather chic. Highly recommended. Thank you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice venue and service but the food disappointing”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

As mentioned nice venue, nice vibe and very good service but unfortunately the food wasn't nice at all especially compare with the cost of it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14ready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelSB, Manager at Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Vincenzo,

Thank you for your review of Mint Leaf Haymarket, we appreciate the time you have taken to let us know of your experience.

We would like to speak with you further to find out where we went wrong with the food that you had on the night of your reservation, this will help us to improve our dining experience and have a better understanding of our customer needs.

Please contact our General Manager directly on reservations@mintleafrestaurant.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AVOID!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our little group of 5 decided to visit Mint Leaf for cocktails after a day out. Disappointing is putting it mildly. Firstly, the 3 bartenders were so busy chatting with each other they really couldn't be bothered to provide any advice on cocktail choices. Finally, having selected our cocktails, one of our group asked if a little less lime could be used in her cocktail to which the answer was a swift 'No' as cocktails could not be made to order. This is very odd indeed considering bartenders should be mixing cocktails to individual specifications!!
Next, although there was ample seating in the bar area we were told that we could not sit there as the area was reserved from 7.30pm. Considering it was only 6.30pm and we promised we would be done by 7.15pm as our party was due to be seated at a table at 7.30pm, we were stunned that another table could not be offered where we could enjoy a drink before our meal. Needless to say, we cancelled our dinner reservation and cocktail orders at Mint Leaf and walked over to Carom at Meza and happily spend a wonderful evening there instead! Mint Leaf you have a lot to learn about customer service. None of us will visit again, there is better to be had in Piccadilly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Veggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelSB, Manager at Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear 2Veggies,

Thank you for your honest review of Mint Leaf Restaurant Haymarket and for taking the time to let us know of your experience.

I would like to apologise to you that the experience was less than expected at our Restaurant. We are in the process of training the team on both customer service and cocktail making. On this, we have let both you and ourselves down and I can only apologise to you profusely.

At Mint Leaf Restaurant Haymarket we are constantly striving to improve our service delivery and greatly appreciate the views of our guests to help us achieve this goal.

We would like to speak with you personally to see what we can do to rectify this experience and improve our service. Please contact the General Manager at reservations@mintleafrestaurant.com directly.

Thank you once again for your custom and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre delight”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent venue for pre-theatre dining. Two courses for £14 and just the right portions before going to the theatre. Arrived a little early (only serve food from 5.30pm) so decided to have cocktails with our friends. Excellent, if a little pricey - can see why when you see the labour that went into their preparation. Service was slick and courteous with no indication we were on the cheap menu. The a la carte menu looked fantastic and we vowed to return to sample this when we have time to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing