We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great curry for a corporate do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar

Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #740 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $59
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Transit: London underground: Leicester Square; Piccadilly Circus; Charing Cross.
Description: Serving innovative Indian cuisine in an elegant and stylish setting, Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar offers a unique dining experience in the heart of the West End and Theatreland, just minutes from Trafalgar Square and Piccadilly Circus. Since opening in 2003 Mint Leaf has established itself as one of London's finest contemporary Indian restaurants. The large and versatile restaurant which can accommodate up to 220 guests seated, is sectioned by dark American walnut wood paneling, creating intimate spaces and semi-private areas for groups. Sink into comfortable sofas in the luxurious bar space and explore the selection of classic and exotic cocktails with over 500 spirits to choose from.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
462 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great curry for a corporate do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a company Christmas meal here. We were in early so started at 6.30, seemed to fill up at 8. I'd agree that the ambience and atmosphere was very good, if a little dark. You are downstairs although it is very spacious once past the bar.

For our needs, a large table. We had prompt, friendly service both before and during the meal. Make use of the cloak room for a more comfortable sitting. Music, but as a background rather than overbearing. Food was very tasty although personally not overly happy with the small taster poppadoms, still the starters and mains were delicious. For a table of 12+ plenty of food. Would also say presentation was excellent - good place for a corporate shmooze..

No idea of price: but looking at the face of the payer - slightly heavier than expected but there was a fair quantity of drink and everyone had a great time. Worth the investment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andymwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    303
    123
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had celebrated our wedding anniversary there. The ambience n atmosphere was great..it is dim light romantic n happening place with music. This place gives u a new energy. Our lil angel was with us n she also enjoyed. Staff was good n friendly. Food was good with western twist, presentation was also nice. It's pricey though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swatipareek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but really glad I wasn't picking up the tab!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant is conveniently situated close to Piccadilly and Leicester Square for diners in the west end. We arrived early evening, after a matinee production and the restaurant was quite busy already. The authentic Indian home cooking smell that greets you as you enter the restaurant had us all salivating from the moment we arrived.The restaurant is very dark, but walkways and communal areas are appropriately lit, a large open space has been divided by screens to make more intimate dining areas. Staff seated us quickly and efficiently, same with serving the drinks. Food and drinks menu are comprehensive, though it is a bit unclear what are starters and what are main courses. We ordered a variety of starters which were delicious (if small portions for the price), each was well cooked and well seasoned with Asian spices but not too overpowering. There is a good selection of vegetarian dishes. As the restaurant filled up the service was pleasant but got slower, no problem for us as we wanted to chat, but I would have been a bit stressed if we were hoping to make an evening theatre performance. Main course and dessert were superb quality food, beautifully spiced and presented, but again quite small portions. As the evening progressed a live band started to play, music was good, but I was glad we were seated well away from the performance area as they were playing really loud. One tip - don't use the scented hand lotion in the rest room before you eat as the fragrance is a bit overpowering when you are eating, save this for after your meal. That said the restroom facilities, like the rest of the establishment were well appointed and clean.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Indian food experience in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have eaten at a lot of Indian restaurants in London and all over India but Mint Leaf definitely stands out for me. I visited the fine-dining restaurant and lounge over 5 times in my 4 week visit to London and I was delighted every time during my visit, whether on a weekday for lunch or on a busy weekend for an intimate dinner. The ambiance and service at Mint Leaf is perfect for a romantic meal with your partner or even a nice quiet dinner with your loved ones. They also have a DJ and a live saxophonist playing on Fridays and Saturdays which serves as a good start to any weekend and is totally entertaining!!

During my visits to Mint Leaf, I was lucky to try out quite a few drinks from their cocktail menu and I have to say the unique concoctions offered in their extensive bar menu were a true delight. Especially the french attitude, pornstar martini and death in the afternoon. Must try cocktails!

The mixed non-veg sharing platter is a great dish to begin your meal with, especially the duck and mahi tikka.The tikkas were extremely succulent and cooked to perfection. Even the paneer tikka was nice, and its sauce/dip worth trying.For the main course, I would recommend the chicken jalfrezi and methi maas with the chilli/ garlic naan. The black dal was an absolute stunner.One of my favorites!! The biryani also had some nice authentic Indian flavours to it. Among their deserts, I would recommend the hot chocolate fondant which is a perfect way to end an amazing meal.

A must visit in London specially to satiate the Indian cuisine cravings!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bh_Mosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"The Hakkassan of Indian food"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place is like the little known "Hakkassan of Indian food" and is great for a fun, boozy evening with friends, although our bar bills at the end of the evening are usually rather scary! Food is excellent and if anything the seating is less claustrophobic than Hakkassan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B0n_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mint Leaf Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing