We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Vegan birthday celebration”
Review of Mildreds Soho

Mildreds Soho
Ranked #866 of 27,494 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Mildreds, established in 1988, serves internationally inspired vegetarian food, all of which is made daily on the premises. Catering for vegetarians, yet popular with omnivores, Mildreds offers friendly informal service in a lively atmosphere coupled with excellent value for money. We use organic ingredients where possible and endeavor to source small businesses for our supplies. Our beautiful wood paneled dining room is available for party bookings Monday to Saturday, with a maximum capacity for 14 people.We do not take bookings in the restaurant but you may enjoy a drink or cocktail at the bar whilst waiting for your table. If you want to avoid waiting please come after 9.30.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great experience. 4 of us went there to celebrate my vegan daughter's 19th. Only 1 vegan amongst us all. We shared starters of the gyosas and the arancine balls. The arancinis where lovely - a winner and we should have ordered more of them. Gyosas were just ok.
Mains where all good. Chick'n kebabs, sri lankan curry and 2 burgers with chips (teriyaki chick'n and beetroot). We all had a taste of each other's food but we all agreed that all the food was lovely. I had the beet burger and it is was very satisfying. And the Chick'n burger and kebabs had the consistency of real chicken. Who would have thought!! And the curry was nice and creamy and coconutty. We shared desserts, 1 cheesecake and a clementine cake. The cheesecake was wonderful but I would not order the clementine cake again. No-one liked it . 2 diet cokes and a carafe of wine. With service included it came to £118 which was fair value.
The place was busy (Sunday afternoon) and on arrival we gave them our mob number and went to nearby pub for a drink. Within half an hour we received a text and the table was waiting for us. Staff were efficient , polite and knowledgeable. No problems whatsoever and as a meat eater I was pleasantly surprised. Would go again. Thoroughly recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JackI854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Mildred's offers a varied and interesting menu which is a delight to discover as a vegan. The food was delicious, well presented and the portions are generous. We didn't have to wait long for our food either. (The drinks menu is also well varied and I thoroughly appreciated the fact the wine list is organic).

Despite the fact this Mildred's establishment doesn't take bookings, we only had to wait about 5 mins to be seated.

The restaurant is incredibly narrow and cramped though so definitely not ideal if you come with a pushchair/wheelchair etc. But for a girls dinner it was fine.

The decor was quirky and the staff friendly. I do think the drinks are considerably overpriced but the food is definitely value for money.

Recommend to all vegans!! (But get there early to avoid disappointment. We arrived at 17:00 and left at about 18:30 and the queue outside was enormous as we were leaving).

It's also very close to the theatres in Leicester square and so is an ideal vegan spot for pre-show supper.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaynaLeigh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent service, delicious food and reasonable prices.
A paradise in London for vegans.
The location is also quite convenient: very central but not too busy.
Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food, I went yesterday around 15:30 and even then it was busy! I had the burger, fries and drink option which was £15.00 and good value in my book. They are currently doing vegan only for January but in general it is a vegetarian restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank benlondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Vegan review - Winner! Mildreds is a small room with low lighting, quirky art and big flavours! Walked in for dinner and got seated within minutes. The servers were busy but effective. Food tasted so good - I had a "chicken" skewer that was so meat-like, so juicy and satisfying. Also enjoyed a creative mocktail. Really can't think of anything bad to say, this one is well worth trying out if you can.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pentrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildredsrestaurants, Owner at Mildreds Soho, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Thank you so much Penny, for taking the time to review us here and give a whole 5* - we all genuinely appreciate it.

Great to read you like what we do, and we hope to welcome you back again soon

Team Mildreds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mildreds Soho also viewed

 

Been to Mildreds Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing