We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsuri is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,691 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Matsuri St James's is based in the heart of Mayfair, offering a wide variety of Japanese food from authentic to innovative. Using top quality ingredients we create a beautiful harmony including teppanyaki - a cooking style in which a chef cooks in front of you. The Sushi bar is very popular among Japanese expatriates as they recognise the same quality as they eat in Japan.
Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Perfect sushi, recommended by a local. Staff was a bit cold despite our being the only customers at the time but the great sushi made up for it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkToTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    112
    43
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great experience with authentic food - but over priced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I went here with my partner and his family as a treat whilst we were in London. I had never been to a restaurant where they cook the food in front of you and it was amazing to experience this. We chose a set menu and I am not usually one to try many different foods but I am glad I did. The staff were friendly and attentive, answering any questions we had about the food etc. However, I think the price was too high and will probably not go back for this reason.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LilaDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious authentic Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Myself and my husband visited this restaurant as a treat and had a fantastic experience there. The food was delicious, service fantastic and it was certainly very authentic. We opted for Teppanyaki - Black cod, which was truly delicious and cooked by the chefs in front of us. We also had sushi which was excellent and the Fireball ice cream which was delightful to watch being prepared. A thoroughly enjoyable evening and we will be returning soon with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janenicola1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A FIRM FAVOURITE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

There were four of us and we decided on the spur of the moment to go for a bite to eat. 'Where?' someone asked, 'Matsuri, the Japanese restaurant in St James's', I responded. Katharina agreed, the other two did not look so sure. So off we sped from Knightsbridge. Usually we eat à la carte, but decided to go for one of the set menus. The starters were great, (a clear fish soup and tempura). We decided to order two fish and two meat mains and share. The two who hesitated were fascinated at the Teppan-yaki experience where the food is cooked on an iron grill in front of customers. Our chef cooked the fish first and after we had eaten that started cooking the fillet steak. We rounded off with the Mango Fireball - which is simply mango and ice cream cooked on the grill and fired. A spectacular experience. The opinion of the two initial dissenters - 'a good choice'. We'll be back - have never had a bad experience at this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPA38210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The food was mostly fantastic, a personal favourite for us was the black cod. Being big sushi fans we had high hopes of the sushi which was only average, loved the chef cooking infornt of us and the staff were very attentive and kind. We would go back but only if we were celebrating or won the lotto!

Helpful?
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing