We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandarin Kitchen

Mandarin Kitchen
Ranked #1,303 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Lobster noodles here is a must try! Noodles are really tasty and comparable or even better than most in Asian countries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    198
    63
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
812 reviews
555 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings 23.08.13”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

W were up in London and were in Queebnsway and were seduced by the previous award won by this place
Sadly the reality did not live up to the expectation.
We arrived at 12.20 on a friday to be greeted by a totally empty restaurant on a busy tourist road, Staff were still laying tables crashing about with crockery and folding napkins as well as replacing the plant life on the tables.
Wee were shown to the table and had to resport to waving arms to order. we ordered food and waited, in the meantime I went to the toilets, oh dear they REALLY didnt decorate them very well so poorly maintained!
Food was eventually served my starter Mussels in black bean and cilli made me cough it was so spicy.
Main course was ok but not exceptional.
When it came to the bill they had added service charge, I asked th waitress why and her answer was priceless "we have to serve the food and clear the tables" being a strop I asked to see the manager and some young male came over. I explained that I choose the tip NOT them, he asked if evertything had been ok, I said yes but thats not the point. he asked if I was new to London, I explained no I was born in London 57 years ago! He continued to debate and I stuck to it, I paid the bill and no tip for a very expensive meal and staff arguing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoppityskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“authentic chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Mandarin Kitchen's speciality is seafood and so i had a shrimp starter and a fish main course. They were both very good. I was very impressed by the fact that most of the clients were Asiatic with many families. the decor is non-existant and the service is slow but if you want good Chinese food for a reasonable price, i recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
200 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The signature dish of the lobster noodle in ginger and spring onion was good, but I wouldn't say the greatest.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was packed when we arrived about 1:30pm, but service was prompt and the food came out very fast despite the crowd. I found the lobster noodle with ginger and spring onion still ver good, though I won't dare say it is the beat. For a side dish we had the kailan fried in garlic which we found the stem of the kailan a bit hard. Overall it was a good lunch, though at about £50 for it, I don't know if this is a bit costly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Buys place, book a table!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great won ton soup, really good sizzling plate with prawns, black bean and chili souce..Prawns in mandarin sauce were very tasty too..a lot of people come here for the lobster noodles- my friend didn't want it, so had to pass, cos you have to order the whole lobster. Came here around 6.30 on a Sunday evening- managed to get a table for an hour before another booking came, people were queueing afterwards- better book or come early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mandarin Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing