We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable & filling.”
Review of Loong Kee

Loong Kee
Ranked #12,414 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East End / East London
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Affordable & filling.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went to this restaurant with a few friends. It was crowded (Saturday evening), which showed us that the food must be good. (There's upstairs & downstairs seating to remedy that.) It isn't a fancy restaurant, but who cares? It's clean and nice ENOUGH, which is what matters most to me. The food was very affordable, and came in big, filling portions. All of us liked it and would return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ph2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    12
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasonable price”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at most of the vietnamese restaurants in Shorditch but have to say Loong Key is by far our Favourite and now we wont eat anywhere else, we eat here atleast once a month, the food is reasonably priced and absolutely delicious, especially addicted to the salt chilli squid and prawn's and grilled scallops, hanoi fish..shakin beef...it's all so fresh and gorgeous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_joannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Vietnamese food I ever had in London”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Food was tasty, resonable prices. This restaurant is very busy, you can bring you own alcohol drinks, although they do sale Vietnamese beers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mambo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food in North London”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was looking for a restaurant where we could bring our own wine - this one popped up. It is in an area where there are several little such places. It is not the most attractive place and the decor is a bit basic. But the staff was very friendly and immediately provided me and my friend with wine glasses and offered to open the wine. The menu was quite interesting, appearing to have links with Chinese and Thai foods. We chose prawn rolls (not bad), duck in orange sauce (lovely and reminiscent of the classic 1970's "duck a l'orange"), beef in coconut and lemongrass (fragrant and creamy) with 2 portions of boiled rice. It came to about £25. Brilliant for the price and turned out to be a pleasant and relaxing meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonBig_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices, BYOB - the best restaurant of the lot”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've been to most of the Vietnamese restaurants in Shoreditch and this is still my favourite.

You must try the softshell crab and/or the squid in salt and chilli. My own favourite starter is the steamed minced shrimp rice rolls - lovely and fresh with the lettuce and mint drenched in spicy fish sauce - while the missus always has the tofu summer rolls (she's veggie)

For mains, it's either the braised pork belly or the grilled pork vermicelli or the braised Mekong catfish for me. The missus either has the tofu and lemongrass vermicelli or the braised tofu and aubergine.

They've started serving alcohol now but it is still bring your own booze. If you're having beer, definitely bring your own because their selection is poor, there are off-licences just down the road.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fungmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loong Kee also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Loong Kee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing