We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal .....EVER!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #36 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The best meal .....EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wow! I am wondering how many superlatives I can use for the eating experience that is Le Gavroche. Amazing, incredible, awe inspiring, creative, gorgeous, are just a few.

You are welcomed by the maître d then you go downstairs to the dining room. We were there at lunch, and we had the business lunch menu, which we thought was excellent value.

Throughout the meal a few extra small amuse bouche were placed in front of us, in addition to the menu items. This was a lovely touch!

The menu was creative and clearly showed an excellent understanding of ingredients - of course, As you would expect!

Every mouthful was as exquisite as the one before, and technical knowledge high. Presentation was fantastic.

Menu included coffee and petit fours (yum!), again, brilliant.

I cannot rate this restaurant high enough. Having grown up in Belgium, I was exposed to quality food at a young age, so certainly appreciate the fantastic food at Le Gavroche. It has always been a dream of mine to eat here, and I am so grateful we did.

I can't wait for the next big occasion to visit again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mkellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,405
    333
    133
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tres bien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This. Was. Or second. Visit. To. Le Gavroche. So. We decided. To. Go fo the menu. Exceptional a taster. Menu. Which. Was. Gorgeous. From. Beginning. To. End each. Course. Was. Explained. To us as it was. Served. Two. Highlights. Gor me were the restaurant speciality soufflé Suisse And. The octopus salad. The service. As you'd. Expect. Was perfect
I've. Marked th. Down. For. Value. As £7 for. Highland. Spring water. Is. Just wrong
But. I can forgive that. As. Everything. Else was. So. Good. Even. Got to meet chef roux jnr

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Le Gavroche is one of those places where you want to come back again and again. Our family meals there are always memorable. Superb wine pairing service, delicious food, professional service, the five stars rating is well deserved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive and worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Eaten here a number of times but most recently was a family dinner for four to celebrate our son's 18th.

The staff are always attentive, welcoming and professional and nothing is ever too much trouble. Pretty much what should be routine for a restaurant of this calibre but the difference is that they manage it in a totally unobtrusive fashion without coming up and introducing themselves every few minutes. Take note many other Michelin starred establishments.

Needless to say the food is magnificent. In all the times that I have been there the only small wrinkle was my wife's venison in the most recent visit was verging on cold when it arrived. Taken away immediately our concern was raised. Replaced with apologies and removed from the bill - although we had not asked for this.

Whatever the reason for going just do it when you can. Although the trickiest thing is actually managing to get a reservation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fine Dining for all the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Took our seven year old daughter here for her birthday lunch. She chose it as she had remembered going there a few months earlier for Nanny's 75th. Her day was made extra special from start to finish. When the canapes arrived it was obviously noticed that I scraped the tiny piece of horseradish cream from the top of the smoked salmon so she would try/eat it. Within seconds her own plate of canapes had arrived without the cream. She then shared the lobster mousse with her Daddy. Both plates of this starter arrived with the mousse expertly divided and looking very pretty. The mousse was exquisite,very light and finished quickly. Other starters of rabbit parfait and cod brandade were equally delightful. Our main courses of salmon, veal and beef were delicious and again it was spotted that I put a couple of my potatoes on my daughter's plate. Again before we could blink she was given her own plate "just in case she preferred them". As it was she wolfed down most of her salmon and the carrot and courgette on her own plate. For dessert we all had ice cream and/or sorberts. Amazing flavours and all fabulous. After we had finished our daughter was given a slice of cake with a candle which was such a surprise for her and the expression on her face was priceless. She also loved the fact that it had Happy 7th Birthday in chocolate around the edge and real gold leaf. The highlight of the day - if anything could actually top the food and service - was that Michel Roux came round the dining room asking how everyone was and enjoying themselves. He was extremely friendly and chatted with our daughter most when we said it was her brithday. He even came back out again later and asked if she she had enjoyed herself and what was her favourite part of the meal. It really made her day. Our table of four ranged in ages from 7 to 75 and we all loved the food, atmosphere and service. If you enjoy fine dining and have young children who also love their food I cannot recommend Le Gavroche enough. The set lunch is staggering value. Cannot wait to go again after the refurbishment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliandizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing