We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #36 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Diggle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have only been once that was 17 years ago sponsors Financial times the food was fantastic and the wines to accompany each course were exceptional this was a 60th Birthday Present from my daughter a meal I will never forget and a young Michael Jnr signed my wife's Menu

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,405
    333
    133
    51
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Westerham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited Le Gavroche on the evening of the 30th November. This was our third visit and on this occasion we were two of the guests celebrating the 40th Wedding Anniversary of old friends. They had taken over the whole restaurant for the evening and it was quite an evening. Canapes were served upstairs before descending to the restaurant for the meal. Michel Roux spoke and told everyone in some detail what we were to expect. The food was superb and beautifully presented and served by attentive but unobtrusive staff. Our hosts were delighted with the success of their evening as were all the guests. As for the cost ? Well perfection comes at a price. If you are thinking of buying a Rolls Royce and are worried about the fuel consumption then you can't afford it. The same goes for Le Gavroche.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BossKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful night out..
As a toastmaster and master of ceremonies for weddings and events, I get to meet many types of people, and I was recommended your restaurant... I was not disappointed one bit.. Will return soon...

Helpful?
Thank Complete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Traditional Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

La Gavroche provides the quintessential French Cuisine fine dining experience. It was on our bucket list of things to do before moving away from London, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. You cannot find fault with the service or presentation, and the food is divine.

My only reflection on the experience: since it is steeped in traditional French dishes (acknowledging some have a modern twist), it seems to hold itself back from doing wild and amazing things with newer cooking techniques and flavour combinations.

Even so, it is one of the best places to eat, certainly in London, if not anywhere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JimWhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I took my wife for her birthday dinner and was impressed as soon as we were greeted at the door. The main dining room is nicely decorated and quite intimate. Food was exceptional and the sommelier very helpful in pairing the wines with our food choices.

Will definitely go back again next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing