We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTE BLISS”
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #42 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTE BLISS”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

this was absolute perfection in all forms. the food was uncontrived and truly delicious. the best things was eating in an establishment like this and not going bankrupt afterwards.
Alison reynolds

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,443
    336
    137
    53
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing experience for real foodies!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

My daughter treated me to the set lunch for my christmas present after dining here in August for her 18th birthday. She immediately came home and rebooked (you need to plan 3 months in advance)!!!
We were first to arrive and received a very warm welcome and were shown to the bar where we pursued the menu and chose our wine.
One of Michels lovely twins explained the menu as all in French naturally, and although we could pick out certain words, were intrigued to receive the whole description.
The bar and dining room were beautifully decorated for Christmas so a wonderful time to visit.
We were lead down to our table and received excellent service, all attending staff extremely courteous and knowledgable.
As each course arrived we were given a description of what we were about to eat.
We started with partridge followed by lamb with panna cotta for dessert, all stunning and timed to perfection.
Ending with a delectable selection of petit fours and gorgeous coffee, of which I had 4 cups-divine.
NOTHING was too much trouble, staff were always on hand but not breathing down your neck, the atmosphere was electric with a massive buzz which added to the experience.
We were visited at the table and asked if we had enjoyed our lunch which was a lovely touch, sadly Michel was not in attendance but did not detract from dining in this stunning establishment, and, although my daughter met him on her previous visit, she was more than happy to sit near his portrait!!!
After going in at 12 midday, we left at 3.40 when it was almost dark, back to reality:(
A real treat and certainly impresses people when to tell them you've dined there!
Can't wait to go back for dinner:)

Helpful?
3 Thank Foodfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Special Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Last week my wife and I celebrated my sister in law's birthday by having lunch at Le Gavroche in London.
Returning for a second time we had made our booking well in advance, some three
months earlier.
Suitably decorated for Christmas the restaurant looked very festive adding to our special lunch experience, and special it certainly was.
We went for the set three course lunch which includes bottled water and half a bottle of wine
per person. May appear expensive to some but worth every penny.
As on our previous visit the food was stunning and all the staff are all very polite, personal, informative and almost invisible, everything just appears to happen with the minimum of fuss.
I cannot rate this restaurant high enough and will stay a family favourite.
Thank you to everyone at Le Gavroche for making our visit so memorable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 34primrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Food and Ambience with Staff to Match”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had lunch there with nine friends on the 27th Nov. We all had the Lunch Menu which was absolutely outstanding and remarkable value. Looking forward to returning in the New Year after the refurb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, excellent sommelier - great experience overall”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was a joy to dine at this excellent restaurant. The service was flawless - courteous, warm and polite. The food was great, every course delicious and memorable. Special kudos to the wonderful sommelier whose approach was to listen closely to what we liked, and engage in a good conversation about which wine to choose. It was instructive but not condescending, her personality shone through, it was clear that her aim was that we have the best night possible, the focus was 100% the client. In the end her recommendation was spot on, just perfect, and such a lovely drink - we remember it to this day and we were glad to have followed her suggestion to try something new. It was an excellent night out on all counts, and I will return hopefully. Thank you to the Le Gavroche team for such great work! It was an immense pleasure to dine at this fine restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeEverywhereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing