We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full price sophisticated food and atmosphere”
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #47 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The first UK restaurant to be awarded one, two, and then three Michelin stars, Le Gavroche remains a class apart. Since opening in 1967, this Mayfair bastion of French cuisine has been very much a family affair, and chef-patron Michel Roux Jr continues the tradition today. The elegance of the menu and the ambience is impeccably tailored, while the discreet service has won its own plaudits.
Paris
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Full price sophisticated food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Well-made cocktails, interesting food and a quiet elegant atmosphere. Great place for a business lunch or dinner to impress, not sure it's a place for a fun night out :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTravellerSydLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,455
    336
    139
    53
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I went there for dinner on our wedding anniversary, booking was not that easy as they have a running three month reservation system and is by phone not online. We both had the Menu Exceptional with the accompanying wines, we requested a swop of the nominated dessert and this was accommodated with no issues. The quality of the food and presentation was really top flight, we have eaten at other Michelin starred venues and we both thought that the Le Gavroche was the best yet. The service was exceptionally good a wonderful combination of professionalism and friendliness.
We are looking forward to a repeat visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exceptionnel really is exceptional”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Booked an engagement meal here for lunch, having been a fan of the Roux family and dining recently at the Landau we finally made it to Le Gavroche.

The outside isn't much really but the real magic starts inside as we were lead through the tartan clad bar area downstairs into the restaurant which is set in the basement which really takes none of the shine off it, its a well decorated, classy venue and the staff add to that quite brilliantly with their friendly and attentive service.

Menu's were put in front of us, the prices on the a la carte will make your eyes water, the lunch menu is presented entirely in French (fear not, the waiters will guide you through it) but what caught our eye was the menu exceptionnel, an incredible nine courses for £112 (£180 with wine pairing), incidentally the wine list is fairly priced and with tremendous variation in wines available, we settled for an Alsace Riesling from 2008 half bottle for £26, the last one as it happened.

The courses went a little like this:-

Souffle suissesse - Gavroche's signature dish and not hard to see why, feather light soufflé in a cheesey crust on top of a pool of double cream, strongly seasoned and perfect to begin with.

Fois gras terrine with Madeira jelly and mushroom toast - Fois gras was quality and beautiful texture, the jelly and toast had deep flavour and It all went together as pate and toast is meant to, fantastic.

Braised octopus with soft shell crab and sweet tomato salad - Best dish of the lot, the texture of the crab and the flavour of the crispy outside was excellent, the octopus added a different texture and a subtle flavour with the Asian flavoured tomato salad giving freshness and bursts of flavour, truly brilliant.

Stone bass pastilla with Arabic spices - subtle spicing and well cooked fish in a similar vein to the dish previous, very good.

Black pudding, crumbed egg, tomato chutney - home made black pudding was a welcome change and different to any ive had before, egg and tomato are natural accompaniements and worked well.

Pigeon with peas and pomme fondant - perfectly cooked pigeon and veg with buttery fondant and meaty jus, perfect.

cheese course - had comte, gruyere and one other, all were lovely and served with quality chutneys and quince jelly.

Millefeuille with raspberries and chocolate - light filo pastry, flavoursome chocolate and some of the best and freshest raspberries ive had, top marks

Petit fours - macaroons, sweets and brandy snaps, a lovely touch.

The icing on the cake was a visit to our table and others by Michel Roux Jr, it really is the best restaurant experience we've ever had, yes its a little pricey but worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"A dream"”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After many attempt to go there ,we finely make it.
The food ,atmosphere,service,wine list......
Bravo and bravo encore!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
392 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This time we went for the menu exceptionelle with wine, with a couple of substitutions on request. Generous with the wine too and unlike some other places the pairings are always good. Nice that Mr Roux Jr comes round to all the tables. Spent a luxurious evening and had to take some bits we couldn't finish away with us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing