We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Le Caprice

Le Caprice
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Caprice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #279 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $77
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: The classic St James's restaurant, Le Caprice is close to the Royal Academy, Burlington Arcade and Bond Street and moments from Piccadilly, Mayfair and the West End. Le Caprice's menu features classic British, European and American favourites and its timeless black and white interior is complemented by a collection of iconic photographs by David Bailey. For your evening's entertainment, our pianist plays from 6.30Pm until midnight. For more relaxed dining, the full menu is also available at the bar.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal. Food combinations never going to set the world alight but well executed, service pleasant and atmosphere just about right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shas10London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    257
    123
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old and tired though still popular”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Le Caprice is reported to once have been Princess Diana's favorite spot...but that was a long, long time ago. The place is popular - the room was crowded and loud, though it is only fair to say that the service staff still managed to function fairly well despite it all, and with good humor.

The food was just OK, at best. The thai roasted fish was bland - for the first time ever, I had the urge to actually add salt to a fish dish. A side order of brussel sprouts were practically raw and all but inedible. A chicken cutlet was pounded, breaded and fried to death...and there wasn't even a sprout of parsley on the plate for eye appeal. In fact, most of the food was presented without any attention to the first impression it would make.

The wine list is certainly adequate and has a fine offering in the fair price range.

This was a good spot for a noisy group more interested in visiting than eating...but that's not the best one should say for a restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wrong drinks brought. Prawn salad without prawns! Side vegetables delivered to different table......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChapLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“An old restaurant in London that still got it!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We did have a lovely time at Le Caprice. The food was good (not great though), the wine was good too (and the nicest thing is that the wine list has really reasonable prices so you do not feel guilty about having another one!) and the place is lovely: is nice to find a place in London that has not been refurbished to follow the latest trend but still maintain a certain individuality; deco fittings and a great photos display on the wall. The service wasn't great to be frank: maybe it was because there were many people, but the wine and water take forever to arrive once ordered. The food was averaging on good (my starter was delicious, my main course was OK, the dessert plate was good!), The experience has been very positive anyway.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelaround59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was fortunate to win a 2 course meal with wine for two persons at this restaurant and my husband and I decided to opt for the pre-theatre menu during a recent weekend trip to London! We were not disappointed!! From the minute we walked through the doors, we were greeted with friendly smiling faces and were offered an aperitif whilst browsing the delicious menu! I opted for the goat's cheese and beetroot salad and my husband chose the pate. Both were delicious. For my main I had the sea bass and my husband opted for a steak , which was cooked to perfection and came with a mouth-watering peppercorn sauce. Although we were both full we decided to 'share' a dessert and again we were not disappointed, we decided on the passion fruit creme brulee - it was heavenly!!! The Manager came over during coffee and asked us if we had enjoyed our meal and if there was anything else he could help us with? I would definintely recommend this restaurant.
On the downside I would agree with the person who remarked about the loudness of the piano. We only heard it for 15 minutes because we dined early but it was quite off putting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REDKR211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Caprice also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Le Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing