We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, good ambience”
Review of Le Cafe du Marche

Le Cafe du Marche
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1,353 of 28,484 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $100
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Transit: The nearest tubes are Farringdon and Barbican. Overground: Farringdon Thameslink.
Description: Open for over three decades, Le Cafe du Marche remains a family run, independent French restaurant. Tucked down a cobbled mews on the corner of historic Charterhouse Square and a stones throw from Smithfield Meat Market, we offer honest French food in a convivial and characterful setting. Crossing the threshold, guests feel they escape the hustle and bustle of the Square Mile and instead feel they have been transported to the south of France. With live jazz playing in the background in the evenings we are unique and special place in the heart of London. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Cafe du Marche has an authentic French feel. The atmosphere, linen tablecloths and candles, is attractive. Service is discrete and well organised. There is a piano and double bass playing pleasantly in the background. However the negatives are that the food is just average and very overpriced. So I cannot recommend it .

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EverhopefulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2019

A good choice of restaurant in central London that can accommodate a party of around 40 people in the upstairs room giving total privacy.

Attentive staff and good food. We were offered a menu that catered for a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses and three desserts followed by coffee. Excellent bread served in baskets on the table. With no other guests, we had privacy for speeches that could easily be heard by all.

A special mention for the manager who was reassuring to elderly guests who thought they had missed their taxi pick up in the late evening.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David_B-Billericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

This is easily our favourite restaurant in London. The food is superb and the atmosphere (with the pianist playing daily) is second to none. If you haven’t been, give it a go. You won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank alex_and_sophie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

Good food of generous proportions. Lovely authentic looking restaurant. Service good, wines good. After many negotiations regarding a milk allergy before and during - our diner was served butter on mushrooms. Be careful land watchful. Rectified quickly as we had noticed thankfully and free drinks all round offered. Would go back.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

This particular restaurant had been recommended by a friend. Lovely atmosphere and decor. Feels very cosy with the extra touch of live piano music. Staff were very attentive throughout. The food was good however I have to say that I found it really odd that our French fries were not fresh. You could tell they were frozen. I think that a restaurant of such a high caliber should not be serving this. Found this disappointing. Apart from that everything was fine. We really did have an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoseLuis2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe du Marche also viewed

 

Been to Le Cafe du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing