We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Excellent Food”

Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tucked away between offices and shops on Blackfriars Road, The Laughing Gravy restaurant is one of the capital���s best kept secrets. Laid back and informal, The Laughing Gravy offers a comfortable setting and friendly, efficient service ��� a must in the demanding local market. So settle in and prepare to enjoy the very best seasonal, fresh food featuring some of Britain���s best known and well loved specialties. Head chef Michael Facey, is known for his dedication to great ingredients and has worked alongside chefs such as John Torode and Mark Hix. Facey has carefully sourced the finest produce from the highest quality suppliers for The Laughing Gravy menu, even taking herbs and vegetables straight from the next door community garden.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique and Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the most unique food I've had so far, and it was also awesome tasting! My starter was the rabbit stuffed with quail's egg, presented with a crayfish on the side -- most excellent. My main was the Cornish sea bass, also very good, and my dessert was a salted caramel fudge in a chocolate cylinder with a nut-based side -- again most excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    409
    119
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As we had travelled from Düsseldorf to eat at the Laughing Gravy, our expectations were high. We were not disappointed, indeed the food exceeded our expectations.. Between the six of us we covered a good part of the menu and we were unanimous that every mouthful was a pleasure. Worthy of special mention were the chicken liver and foie gras mousse in black cherry jelly, the confit belly of pork (with a wonderful wafer of crackling), the pan-fried cornish sea bass, and the cider-marinated lamb rump. The salted caramel fudge and shortbread filled chocolate cylinder with a cashew nut cluster and peanut emulsion sounds complex and a bit over the top, but it was a truly memorable dessert - Michael Winner would have called it "historic". By contrast the white chocolate ice cream served with a shot of cafe liqueur was very simple, but very good indeed.

Service was pleasant and nicely judged: brisk, but attentive without being intrusive. We are going back on our next visit to London in November!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Dropping our daughter off for her new life at uni in London was made all the more pleasant by a lovely Sunday lunch.
Lovely food, beautifully served in a very pleasant dining room.
Well done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooke1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique, Creative, Fantastic”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Walked in without a reservation and was immediately seated. Appetizer and meal were outstanding. Could not have been more pleased with every aspect of this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTWin80Days2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails, wonderful food and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Myself and my partner were visiting London to see a play at the old Vic and a friend recommended The Laughing Gravy for dinner. We were met and greeted by thr friendly manager and after a couple of delicious cocktails at the bar, we were shown to our table. The restaurant and a lovely, cosy welcoming feel about it. We selected a bottle of red from the extensive but actually very reasonably priced wine menu and set about perusing the dinner menu. What a choice and all sounding mouth watering! My partner selected the rabbit and crayfish scotch egg and I chose the fois gras with black cherry jelly. Now we like to play a game of food envy, but neither won as both we're just fabulous!! The flavours were wonderful, and I loved how mine came presented as two large cherries! For the mains, my partner had the sirloin steak, that was cooked to perfection and I had the venison and mushroom Wellington. Now I have to admit, I won that round as mine was just amazing, but I'm probably biased! All in all a wonderful experience. We both look forward to out next London trip and repeated visit to this restaurant and the experience was just wonderful!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougDDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing