We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tickling the Ivories!”

Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #163 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tucked away between offices and shops on Blackfriars Road, The Laughing Gravy restaurant is one of the capital���s best kept secrets. Laid back and informal, The Laughing Gravy offers a comfortable setting and friendly, efficient service ��� a must in the demanding local market. So settle in and prepare to enjoy the very best seasonal, fresh food featuring some of Britain���s best known and well loved specialties. Head chef Michael Facey, is known for his dedication to great ingredients and has worked alongside chefs such as John Torode and Mark Hix. Facey has carefully sourced the finest produce from the highest quality suppliers for The Laughing Gravy menu, even taking herbs and vegetables straight from the next door community garden.
Yorkshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tickling the Ivories!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We thought that the Laughing Gravy fully lived up to our expectations. The head waiter was very helpful. We arrived early but were accommodated immediately and seated by the upright piano. Close enough to 'tickle the ivories'. The food also tickled our ivories, the wine was excellent and we thought reasonable prices for London. We were able to spend some time at the bar afterwards and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanukUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,037
    416
    124
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This place is wonderful! We arrived and were greeted very warmly by several staff members, even though it was a busy Saturday night. We were seated on the right hand side of the restaurant on the beautiful banquette seating.

For starters, we had the pate and the artichoke. The latter was particularly brilliant - I have never eaten an egg poached to such perfection before! Then we had the pasta and the lamb - which is worth every penny - with a side of cheddar champs which were to die for!

Unfortunately we were too full for dessert, although the list did look very tempting. Instead we went for a couple of glasses of wine - the list is extensive and reasonably priced. Their cocktail list is brief but perfected!

Everything about this place screams sophistication, but not pretention. The music was mellow and jazzy, without overpowering conversation. The toilets were spotless and some of the smartest I have ever been in! The artwork on the walls is by a local artist and really complements the style of the restaurant.

The manager came over to check how we were doing and seemed lovely - he certainly knows what he is doing!! The Laughing Gravy without a doubt deserves its place on this list and I will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farmerjackie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I'm not really sure why this place has such raving reviews. I found it completely forgettable. I got the swordfish and risotto, my husband got the lamb. the food, atmosphere, service were good, not great.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catch242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little place with fab food and brilliant staff”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I fancied trying somewhere different for my Birthday meal and after searching the internet came across reviews for The Laughing Gravy. It sounded like a great little place and after emailing the very accommodating managing director, Jon, I managed to book a table for ten for the following evening. The food choice was fantastic, perfect for a group with varying tastes! A few friends had starters and everyone had mains, I had the lamb rump, which was amazingly tender and tasty, but other mains including the superfood salad with chicken, John Dory and the burgers were also great hits. For dessert, the favourite was definitely the peach and almond crumble, delicious. It is a great little restaurant that you feel really cares about it's customers, the staff are brilliant, the food fab and the atmosphere relaxed but buzzy. Although it's a bit off the beaten track it's definitely worth finding it, before everyone else does!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank griff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

What a great restaurant! Wonderful relaxed atmosphere, with a superb menu, favourite classics with a twist. Friendly and attentive service, I will be back!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank NDangerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Gravy Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing