We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lahore Kebab House

Lahore Kebab House
Ranked #2,365 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Whitechapel
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading the reviews on here, decided to go to "Lahore Kebab House" one Friday evening. The food was decent enough but did not really live up to the hype. Lamb chops were the best of the bunch. Pretty expensive for a BYO and the staff where neither here nor there. If you asked for something you got it but without any semblance of politeness or interest. Good if you are in the area but needs to up it's game considering the competition in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine_EastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    247
    95
    50
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food! Get the mixed grill starters!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was one of the highlights of my most recent trip to London. The mixed grill starters included the most delicious lamb chops, chicken tikka and two other types of lamb that were amazing as well. The service was fast and a bit hectic, but to be fair, the place was literally packed! When we asked what the differences were between the types of curry lamb dishes we were just asked, "You want spicy lamb? How many spicy lamb? You want spicy chicken? How many spicy chicken? You want mixed vegetables?, etc." There was no explanation of the dishes, but that's OK. I ordered the spicy lamb and was not disappointed. We also had a big bowl of the pilau rice and a plate of assorted naans and papadoms. At the end of the night we even had some rice and bread left over, but none of the curry or the meat!
The atmosphere was loud and crowded and fueled by many bottles of beer from the offy next door as they don't serve beer, but don't mind if you bring in your own. I think everyone in the place had visited the store next door as the line inside the store was quite long as well.
This was a great place to visit with friends and one of the things I will miss about London until I can get back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDad_PTFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hot, tasty, cheap”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We eat at Lahore's every time we visit London. The restaurant seems to cater for their regular locals as well as Pakistani immigrants in London who are often seen having a meal on their own there. The food is hot and spicy, the flavours quite explosive. the kitchen area is visible to the diners and it's fun to watch the cooks whipping up the meals.

A word of advice: when you are led to a table, a waiter will bring you a bottle of water. Don't open it, because that's just a ploy to get you to pay for btoteld water. Tell the waiter immediately that you want some tap water - they take their time about bringing it, and their food is very hot: you have been warned.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mverivaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“I miss going here”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I live in Northumberland nowbut lived in London's East end for many years. The Lahore is the eating place that I miss most. Traditional, not westernised food. Extremely fresh, my mouth watering just thinking about it. I have not been there for some time, but I'm so pleased that it is still there and still providing excellent and good value food. Please note that this is about enjoying food - you would not go here for a first date - the surroundings are basic and it is not meant to be romantic. There is not a huge choice either - just eat what is recommended. It isn't licensed - just buy from the off licence over the road. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best.....food...”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've been a devoted customer for years. It's a lot swankier than it used to be! But the food is what we all come for. Just the best. Try to come witha large group - preferably with at least one Pakistani friend - and order everything. Grab your beer at the convenience store nearby and have a feast. Not fancy. Not a romantic night out. But the best Indian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simonwt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahore Kebab House also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Lahore Kebab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing