We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic French Favourites”
Review of La Trompette

La Trompette
Reserve with OpenTable
La Trompette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $64
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiswick
Description: La Trompette opened in 2001 and serves some of the best food in London but without the formality or prices associated with the capital’s top end establishments.We closed at the beginning of 2013 for a complete refurbishment, and have expanded to include a brand new kitchen, private dining and improved customer facilities. The new appearance has not changed the focus of the restaurant. The aim is as it always has been, to give all our guests the best possible dining experience from start to finish.
International
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Classic French Favourites”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Impeccable service, perfect classic French cuisine, understandable prices, one of the best sommeliers in London, quaint surroundings. What more can one wish for? The Chateaubriand was especially memorable on the Latour '70 and La Conseillante '98. It is well worth the acclaim.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    177
    53
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of London's Best Neighbourhood Restaurants”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant has it all, food is top notch, service is great and the recent refurbishment has opening it up creating more space without losing the romantic coziness of before. Great value for the quality of the place...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoriceandBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A meal to relish”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

A very comfortable restaurant with tasteful décor and excellent service. The set lunch menu is very good value with a wide amount of choice. The only niggle is the huge wine list which is somewhat overpriced for many of the lesser wines.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Michelin Starred, but is it worth the money?”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's been around for years and has recently extended into the adjoining premises. Claims to be the best restaurant in Chiswick and undoubtedly has a wide following. Good food, but possibly a little over-rated.
I have to say that I prefer Le Vacherin!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thegreybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Overwhelmingly delicious”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came from Somerset and had not eaten in a Michelin Starred restaurant before... as good regular home cooks we were asking ourselves "is the hype going to be worth it or not?"
IT SO WAS WORTH IT!!
5 of us had 3 courses, nearly all different dishes, and every one lived up to or exceeded expectations. My husband was a bit surprised by the taste of the wine and the sommelier picked that up and offered him samples of two other wines that were made from the same grape. We were so impressed at the end of the meal to see that they had not charged us for any of them. The wines are not cheap so we really appreciated the chance to learn something about them as well as enjoy the variety. But it was the food that really wowed us and at £45 a head for the 3 courses is really very good value. One of my sons had the caramelised chocolate wafers with roast pears and salted caramel mousse and I think that was the most delicious thing of all, but it was closely followed by the Chargrilled Cornish squid with ink risotto, crisp mackerel, gremolata and lemon oil which was extraordinary! The Roast fallow deer with gratin dauphinoise, root vegetables, quince and roasting juices that I had for main course was truly wonderful, especially the dauphinoise...mmmmm!
We were also made to feel so welcome and the staff were attentive and concerned without being intrusive or over formal. Thank you La Trompette, I hope we will come back again one day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k8fmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trompette also viewed

Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 

Been to La Trompette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing