We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant”
Review of La Trompette

La Trompette
Reserve with OpenTable
La Trompette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $64
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiswick
Description: La Trompette opened in 2001 and serves some of the best food in London but without the formality or prices associated with the capital’s top end establishments.We closed at the beginning of 2013 for a complete refurbishment, and have expanded to include a brand new kitchen, private dining and improved customer facilities. The new appearance has not changed the focus of the restaurant. The aim is as it always has been, to give all our guests the best possible dining experience from start to finish.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have now been to this restaurant several times and have never been dissappointed. The lunch menu is very tasty and a great deal. Highly recommded.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLP2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    177
    53
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic game food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very romantic venue with the best grouse ever, very high standard, excellent wine list and efficient staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Most outstanding meal I've had in the last 2 years!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Utterly fantastic-the atmosphere, service and food. The meal was honestly stunning from start to finish, we tried on the off chance for Sunday lunch and managed to get in despite having our two children with us and were still treated beautifully. The courses were beautifully constructed with the freshest most seasonal veg and adorable flowers.I loved how they didn't pander to the children with the usual idiotic options and instead offered them guinea fowl which they both adored.This place literally has to be my new favourite in London, if not worldwide!!!!!!!!Do not hesitate to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always super”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Took my mum for lunch on a weekday.
Lovely as ever, only gripe would be that the service was a bit slow once they filled up for lunch and we had to signal a couple of times to order dessert, wine etc.
We probably should have told them that we were in a bit of a rush.
BUT, reliable, great food and super atmosphere as usual. Why go to the West End when this is on your doorstep ? !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonMummmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service and a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have been to La Trompette several times since it was refurbished back in January. Each time I haven't been disappointed by the food or service. La Trompette is one of the few restaurants that manages to deliver amazing service whilst maintaining a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is perfect for special occasions but is not stuffy and has a real neighbourhood feel to it.

Both the lunch and dinner menus offer great value and the wine list has a wide selection of wines for all tastes and budgets. I cannot fault the food since their new chef joined from The Square in Mayfair at the start of the 2013. The food is seasonally delicious and well-presented. I always like to try something different on the menu but I would particularly recommend the short rib of beef and soufflé from the dessert menu. One of the nice things about this restaurant is that the menu is seasonal and constantly changing so you will always manage to try something new.

I am not surprised that this restaurant has only a handful of poor reviews. Some of the negative feedback has been regarding selection, portion sizes, the wine list and service but from my experience, the waiting staff are very attentive and always seem to go that extra mile to keep customers happy (with a special mention to our waiter, Angelo). The portion sizes are also perfect and the wine list is probably one of the most affordable restaurant wine lists I have ever come across. The menu is on one page but the selection is diverse meaning that you'd struggle not to find something that appeals to even the fussiest person!

In summary, I regard La Trompette as the best restaurant in Chiswick. Both the food and service are outstanding and cannot be compared to other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trompette also viewed

Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
London, England
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to La Trompette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing