We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and nice place...”
Review of La Porchetta

La Porchetta
Ranked #9,420 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
421 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great pizza and nice place...”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just fancy a tasty pizza? You won;t go wrong with this place. Lovely and airy with big windows to see the street pass by...

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    20
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Islington La Porchetta was one of the first restaurants I visited when I first moved to London in 2000, and I've been a repeated visitor ever since. The service is casual and relaxed, the music is consistently pretty dreadful, but the food and drink provide some of the best value you'll find in London. The specials are delicious, and whether you're there for pasta, pizza or meats, you'll almost unquestionably be able to find something on their extensive menu. The pizzas are usually my favourite - huge, tasty, and cooked in front of your eyes. It's not the place for a romantic meal, as it's quite high density and the acoustics are poor, but for a relaxed, satisfying, delicious and cheap meal, there probably aren't many better choices in London. Worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizzeria in London”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

i've been to this place thousands of time!!!
This is definitely the best pizzeria in London.. better than many other famous places.
Don't doubt me, I'm italian.
Food is great, the place is nice and warm.
Italian staff will serve you, and italian food will come.
It's close to Angel that is a great area where you can go shopping easly.
Trust me.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ferro80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cheap, Cheerful Food!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

If you want cheap cheerful food in Upper Street, Angel. This place is a good pick. It's not the greatest restaurant that ever lived, but it's good value for money for some authentic pizza or pasta. Rather than going to these horrid chains like Pizza Hut or Dominos. It can get quite noisy in there in the evenings, especially on fridays & saturdays. But you don't have to book, although you might wait a little while. And it's friendly, quick-ish service, with good value for money food. No complaints.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_J26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want severe food poisoning - go there”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I would not recommend this restaurant. I suffered from severefood poisioning there having eaten vegetairn food and I so disappointed at the lack of acknowledgement by the restaurant.

Very poor

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2012Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

London, England
 

Been to La Porchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing