We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive, considerate and nice atmosphere”
Review of L'Oranger - CLOSED

L'Oranger
Price range: $39 - $64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: St. James's
Cross street: Pall Mall
Transit: Green Park, Piccadilly Circus
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Attentive, considerate and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good location.
Pleasant and airy restaurant.
Staff not too obtrusive or pushy but always there if needed
Presentation very good
Sliced (good) bread - but would have been nice if a little more "rustic" perhaps
Food very delicate and well cooked - no complaints from around the table.
Very attentive (and much appreciated) consideration to food intolerance issues
Fresh fruit salad was very nice.
I wasn't paying so can't really comment on final price - but menu did not appear over the top (all things considered) I would not rule this restaurant out for a return visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pick_E_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulously French in the heart of Mayfair”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was my wife's birthday on Monday, and we were by chance in London. She selected L'Oranger from a long list of favourites, and it didn't disappoint. We were joined by two of our adult children and one of their partners. The restaurant staff are friendly, courteous, warm and welcoming. The food is light, full of flavour and exquisitely presented. It was a chilly night outside, but the restaurant was warm and surprisingly busy for Monday evening. The wine list is an indulgence - with some fabulous French classics... and although we selected towards the expensive end of the list due to the special occasion, you can also get a good bottle at reasonable price. The lobster ravioli was a triumph, and packed with chunks of moist pink meat. The amuse-bouche and pre-desserts were outstanding. It is unashamedly expensive, but for a treat or special occasion stays at the top of our Mayfair list! By the way, they have delightful courtyard which is worth reserving on a warm summer evening!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulsfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“L'Oranger - What a dissapointment!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A group of us went to dinner and it was such a disaster. The restaurant was cold and so quiet you were self concious speaking above a whisper, the decor is faded and not so grand as it may once have been.
The starters and mains were half cold and so lacking in flavour it was awful. The quantities were so small that we all ended up going for snacks and a drink afterwards at the Sofitel!!
The only enjoyable part of the experience was the wine.
Do not waste your money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie1963_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but no ambience.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A mid-week lunch time meal which was very pleasant but very quiet. The food was very good and beautifully presented. I must particularly mention the desserts which were excellent (and I do not have a sweet tooth so I was surprised how much I enjoyed my vacherin). The wine list was extensive and rather pricey but we enjoyed a good Chablis. I do wish though they would leave the water on the table. As others have mentioned the atmosphere was a little flat due to being rather empty but it was a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bas_23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quietly Delightful”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Midweek lunch, mid olympics and the dining room was beautiful but quite empty. Service was extremely attentive and food delicious.
Warm fresh bread rolls served from a basket, followed by starters, my smoked salmon was superb, melt in the mouth delight.
Fish mains, yes I know fish and fish, and was not disappointed. Fish was cooked beautifully, presented perfectly ad tasted as good as it looked.
Sadly had no room for desert, but were treated to some lovely petit fours with coffees.
Would return and recommend - so why not 5 stars - as it was so quiet the atmosphere was lacking. If you want a discreet, private place to eat this is then perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank runoutofideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oranger also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing