We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food Excellent Service very pleasant environment”
Review of J Sheekey

J Sheekey
Reserve with OpenTable
J Sheekey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #219 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: In the heart of Covent Garden, J Sheekey is a fish and seafood restaurant offering the finest fish, oysters, shellfish and other fruits de mer. Discreetly tucked away on St Martin's Court between Charing Cross Road and St Martin's Lane, J Sheekey is a stone's throw from many of the West End's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square and vibrant quarters of Covent Garden and Soho. The Royal Opera House and Coliseum, Palace Theatre, Donmar Warehouse, Wyndham's, Duke of York and Noel Coward Theatres are close by, making the restaurant perfect for pre and post theatre dining. All fish is responsibly caught from sustainable sources.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
677 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Excellent Service very pleasant environment”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We tried here for a pre-theatre meal based on the rating in the "Good Food Guide", even though we didn't have reservation. We were greeted warmly and as soon as they realised we needed to be finished by approx. 7 p.m. they found us a table immediately.
The décor is somewhat sombre, and maybe too much "brown" but it leads to a calm atmosphere and a very pleasant air.
There is no shortage of servers so service was excellent - quick, friendly and efficient. There is no "pre-theatre" or fixed price menu, but plenty of choice from the main a la carte menu. We decided against starters and went straight for the main course, one of us having halibut and the other cod. We also ordered sides of tomato salad and heritage potatoes. The food came within 15 minutes and was absolutely delicious, beautifully cooked, well presented and extremely tasty. The wine list is a good size but there was a selection of wines by the glass, albeit (with 1 exception) quite expensive.
We ended with desert and espresso coffees, all of which were really excellent.
At no time were we anxious that we would be late for the theatre, nor did we feel at all pressured to finish. A great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    618
    195
    66
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Calm and sophisticalted”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I liked this place. Its difficult to feel relaxed when you've battled and dodged your way through Leicester Square, but as soon as you walk into this venue you feel well looked after, and you can clear your mind. The decor is old and a bit stuffy, but that was expected. There were lots of old and i think dead people's faces staring down at me from the walls. I am sure they came with all sorts of stories but it was a bit creepy. I was really hungry so went for the shrimp & scallop burger which was exactly what it said on the tin! delicious - I wouldn't get it again but that's only because i like to experiment. It was exactly what i wanted, and the chilli mayo was something different. Having made my way through a bottle of processo and started on the chardonnay i thought a dessert was the best idea i'd ever had, so went for the blueberry cheesecake. It looked beautiful, and tasted good. Just good. pretty much like every other cheesecake i have tasted, but it was much prettier so it won a few points. I couldnt finish it though after a generously sized burger and all those bubbles. Lesson learnt.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for theatre land”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our first visit on a recent trip to London to go to the theatre. Excellent service, nice table, lovely food beautifully presented and couldn't have been happier. Will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PebsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Addictively good food!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my first visit here, it was delicious! Clearly top quality produce used. The plaice was cooked to perfection and the clams were lovely. We had the weekend set lunch menu, £26 for three courses, not a massive amount of choice but even with only 3 dishes per course to choose from we were still struggling to decide. Portions were a good size, we didnt need any extra sides with the mains. The house wines were prefectly good, so you don't have to break the bank to go here...although some of the dishes on the a la carte sounded amazing!
The service was great, very attentive without being too overbearing. The layout of the area we were in was a little odd, not ideally positioned for socialised and one of the tables of 2 looked a little carmped to me but everyone was happy enough and it certainly wasnt a problem. The aircon was alittle haphazard but the staff were ver accomodating in adjusting it if you asked.
All in all, the lunch deal with a few drinks,whilst not cheap, is a fairly reasonable way to go for a posh lunch in a nice atmosphere. I would absolutely recommend it and i will be going back. I hear that if you sit in the bar rather the restaurant this is a great way to try different seafood so perhaps i will do that next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emsie-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food , average service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

J sheekey is an amazing restaurant the food is delicious so much flavours. I love seafood and there you can get it. Close to theatres excellent place to it. If I have to find one weakness it's the service , the service didn't have enough man power to deal with all the costumers so we waited half an hour before we got service a excellent food damaged with average service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nirchipope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Sheekey also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to J Sheekey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing