We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back !”
Review of J Sheekey

J Sheekey
Reserve with OpenTable
J Sheekey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #219 of 22,509 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: In the heart of Covent Garden, J Sheekey is a fish and seafood restaurant offering the finest fish, oysters, shellfish and other fruits de mer. Discreetly tucked away on St Martin's Court between Charing Cross Road and St Martin's Lane, J Sheekey is a stone's throw from many of the West End's theatres, the cinemas of Leicester Square and vibrant quarters of Covent Garden and Soho. The Royal Opera House and Coliseum, Palace Theatre, Donmar Warehouse, Wyndham's, Duke of York and Noel Coward Theatres are close by, making the restaurant perfect for pre and post theatre dining. All fish is responsibly caught from sustainable sources.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will come back !”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, speedy service, professional staff, reasonably priced wine list, will definitely come back !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jserrenho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    618
    195
    66
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were very impressed with the knowledge and recommendations of the staff. At no time did they try to get us to order the most expensive wines and dishes and they also made sure that we didn't over order. The whole experience was great, the food divine. We'll be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, Nederland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sea food Bar food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Classic Oyster Bar. If you keep to basics nothing can go wrong. Presentation standard. Trendy setting

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Visenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Fish Experts”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty! All of the staff were friendly and smiling. We arrived just before 12 and the restaurant opened promptly at 12. We were given the lunchtime special menu and the a la carte. No quality had been spared with the lunchtime menu plus it was good value at £29 per head for 3 courses excl drinks! All 3 courses were superb and I think I had the best fish pie ever!! I will definitely go aim as I am keen to try the oysters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“As Excellent as I'd Hoped”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went here in July for lunch with my wife.
Neither of us had been before, but had heard a great deal about it, and it didn't let us down.
I had a dressed crab which was superb, followed by Dover sole and summer vegetables, delicious. My wife had Dublin Bay Prawns which she raved about, and followed that with (???) King prawns with a salsa which were almost but not as good.
Ambience, buzzing, service, excellent.
Possibly seating a bit tight knit but all in all fabulous, though as ever, the alcohol was the bill's downfall!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PITN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Sheekey also viewed

 

Been to J Sheekey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing