We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but Expensive Italian Food and Wine”
Review of Il Convivio

Il Convivio
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #502 of 28,179 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Transit: Sloane Square and Victoria tube stations.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Dined there earlier this month. Conveniently located very close to Victoria Coach station and within walking distance of Victoria Station. They have a small but manicured terraced garden at the entrance. Food was delicious but the portions of pork fillet we ordered were rather small for £21.50, though the Risotto was substantial. We also ordered Baroloa Reserve Red Wine 2011. Enjoyed it but again at £92 a bit expensive. Their walls are painted red and have some Italian sayings painted on them which were willingly translated by the talkative manager . They have a 12.5 % service charge added to your bill. Good place for Italian fine dining though a big heavy on the purse !

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Viraat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, General Manager at Il Convivio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks to this experienced reviewer for his comments. Regret that the portion of pork fillet would have been appreciated larger.However regarding prices we are in fact much more reasonable than most others in the vicinity. Yes that is the kind of price you would pay in any restaurant for a quality Barolo riseva 2011. To be honest I believe that Barolo has become exspensive ad we have numerous quality reds that would compete and even surpass in quality for half the price. If you order Barolo you will be obliged to pay the premioum its name seeks to justify

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

We stumbled across this lovely Italian restaurant after visiting the Chelsea Flower Show and were fortunate to get a table without a booking. From the outside the restaurant looks a little small but what you don’t see is that the restaurant opens up on to a lower floor once inside.
The staff are very attentive and full of Italian charm and humour. The food is wonderful, a great selection of meat, fish or vegetarian options and a great selection of wines.
It’s a great place for an evening meal and I’d definitely go back here again!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ReviewedbyJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, Manager at Il Convivio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

The staff and management would like to thank this reviewer for his post. We all try our best and it is great to know it was appreciated. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Birthday night at Convivio after Chelsea Flower Show. Food really mediocre, insipid and tasteless, nothing special, nothing imaginative. Very very middle of the road. Even bread and wine really average. Service was friendly at least.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank JBB727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, Manager at Il Convivio, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Well not sure how to respond. This review ,,even the wine average..hmm,,never ever had our wines called average.This review is extremely far from the norm,,but everybody has a right to their opinion..thankfully 99.9% state the opposite. We do not believe our food is mediocre,and we actually get compliments re our bread,nor do we put any importance to the other comments ,and our point of view is borne out by our many positive reviews.I do not want to upset any of our reviewers or question if they know anything about food as maybe they prefer a spicy curry but that is not what we do. Internet disinhibition is one thing, but a two line,ill thought out,sparse,inane review should be treated with the disdain it deserves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

We needed a restaurant near Victoria Station and we read about this one on TripAdvisor. It was such a disappointment. Firstly though I will say that the staff were fantastic and very sympatico. We were grateful to them for making our evening somewhat better. Sadly there was nothing special about the food. Although the dishes were very much the restaurant's own style we had hoped for some that were authentically Italian as it was the whole reason for choosing this restaurant. I appreciate that everyone's taste is different but really for this price range I would expect better. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Burlyshenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, Manager at Il Convivio, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

We regret that this reviewer was not entirely satisfied with his visit, pleased that he enjoyed the service but somewhat perplexed with the comment authentic Italian. We have had numerous reviews from Italian customers who actually comment on and praise the fact that we serve authentic Italian cusine. It would be heplful to understand a review if the reviewer goes to the effort of letting us know what he ate and why he reached his conclusion. Regarding our price range it is actually factual that we are considerably cheaper than most of our competition and we have comments that we serve food at good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Welcoming and warm contemporary ambience, good food and charming staff. Six of us had the set lunch menu – and a very nice time.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio E, Director General at Il Convivio, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Glad to hear that our set menu was a success. Thanks for the post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Convivio also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Il Convivio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing