We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit expensive for standard of the foods” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunan

Hunan
Ranked #1,191 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chelsea
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bit expensive for standard of the foods”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For nearly £60, I would expect the standard of the foods are excellent. The courses are one piece for each person. we are a group of 8 people and each course we can have one piece. Even though we can order more but I was very disappointed by the foods.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sum Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    79
    33
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good idea but not really for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

During the course of the night it became glaringly obvious that most ppl had eaten in the restaurant before as they knew exactly what dishes to aks for and avoid despit having no menu infront of them. By about dish 10 our table was pretty full - only three of the dishes were stand out and they happened to some of the veg ones. We were told they would be another 8 dishes or so before our mains!!!! We hate wasting food so told them to bring no more food. The mains were sea bass and duck both of which we would have preferred over some of the small plates we had but just opted for the sea bass. There was no way we coudl have dessert on top of that. It is a fixed price so even though we did not have dessert or one of the mains and some of the small plates you all pay the same. if i do ever come back i will make sure that they tell me what dishes they will be serving and i will pick the ones i like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pips78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly positive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

I don't get that excited about Chinese food unless it is a xiao long bao. We were thoroughly impressed with the food. Great to just be plied with food rather than ordering from a menu that you have no idea about. They probably sent too much food but 80% was an interesting experience - scollps on bitter gourd, and plenty of sizhuan pepper to get your tongue sweating. Service was poor but this place is definitely worth a visit. One waiter was particularly good and knowledgeable about Mou Tai..., which was a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
269 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Top choice for Chinese food in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hunan is our long-standing favourite family- run Chinese restaurant in London. The menu changes by the season depending on market availability. Most diners opt for the tasting menu, but we usually ask for a selection of smaller courses until we are "satisfied" (i.e., full). Unusual for a Chinese restaurant, there is an excellent wine list. Service is friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Still as great as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Outstanding lunch. Seemingly endless flow of tasty, creative delights. We mentioned how much we loved the green bean dish and lo and behold a second one appeared.
The small tapas size dishes means that you get such a range of taste sensations- not one of which disappointed.
Good wine selection too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Hunan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing