We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Finesse and Expensive Pretence with Genuine Class and Warmth”
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greenhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $162
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Escape to an elegant, peaceful setting at the heart of Mayfair, where The Greenhouse serves a Michelin star accredited combination of modern French and European cuisine, accompanied by an extensive wine list of over 3,400 labels. Internationally renowned, The Greenhouse is one of only four restaurants in the world to win the Wine Spectator Grand Award since 2005, the highest award given for an exceptional wine list. Crafted by Head Chef Arnaud Bignon, the seasonal menus change regularly to showcase the finest and freshest ingredients of the season, highlighting a well-balanced approach to flavour and presentation. Diners can also sample the highest quality artisan cheeses, sourced from small farm producers, primarily located in France. For further luxury, The Greenhouse offers a private dining area for up to 10 guests, featuring a view of the restaurant and curtains to draw for a more intimate experience.
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Finesse and Expensive Pretence with Genuine Class and Warmth”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I cannot say it is one of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant, but it is top class of its type -- a serious Michelin-starred bill of fare with seemingly endless amuses bouches and excellent service and deft presentation. Every effort is made to engender warmth and comfort in an atmosphere which is traditionally pretentious, but remains as expensive as ever. It certainly has much better cooking and ingredients than when I last visited over 15 years ago (when it had a different owner, management and chef) and found it quite comfortable and enjoyable. At £120-180 a head depending on wine, it provides value for money if this sort of meal and presentation is what you are looking for. My own main course (red leg of partridge) was beautifully cooked and tender, but its accompaniments were more concerned with presentation than with adequately complementing the fowl (apple sauce delicious, but only two spoonsful elegantly smeared on the plate). Everyone had a good time and I was very grateful to my host.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas_n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    103
    66
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our first visit to a Micheline starred restaurant and was a present from my wife and as the title suggests from the moment we walked in our evening put simple was perfect.

Standards are beyond expectation, food was amazing and would go as far as saying the best I have tasted, the atentiveness of the staff was like nothing either of us have expereinced before or since.

Obviously service like this comes at a cost but all I can say is it worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swiftly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An exquisite evening”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Went for a friend's birthday..all was perfection, from the lovely wooden footpath leading to the restaurant, to the greeting, to the service and ambiance, and the marvelous food, both in presentation and in taste..a delight in all senses of the word..I cannot give The Greenhouse high enough praise...too often Michelin starred restaurants are either over hyped, or succumb to smugness..this restaurant achieves excellence will remaining caring in service and achieving a superb level of inventiveness...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmacdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, just wow”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Feels like its in the basement of an apartment building. Entrance is like a small private park. Setting and service is amazing. The food indescribable. The prices are astronomical...but worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank gregcaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Food excellent; drinks over priced”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

5 of us enjoyed lunch yesterday at the Greenhouse.
We chose from the special lunch menu @ £35 for 3 courses. The food was lovely. I had foie gras starter, which was cooked to perfection, and thoroughly enjoyable. My main course was the beautifully cooked fish, served on a green foam of potatoes.
While the food and service were very good, the drinks (£70 for a bottle of the house bubbly) seemed to be very over priced compared to other Michelin restaurants we have been to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing