We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classy idyllic spot in the heart of London with great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greenhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #288 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $157
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Escape to an elegant, peaceful setting at the heart of Mayfair, where The Greenhouse serves a Michelin star accredited combination of modern French and European cuisine, accompanied by an extensive wine list of over 3,400 labels. Internationally renowned, The Greenhouse is one of only four restaurants in the world to win the Wine Spectator Grand Award since 2005, the highest award given for an exceptional wine list. Crafted by Head Chef Arnaud Bignon, the seasonal menus change regularly to showcase the finest and freshest ingredients of the season, highlighting a well-balanced approach to flavour and presentation. Diners can also sample the highest quality artisan cheeses, sourced from small farm producers, primarily located in France. For further luxury, The Greenhouse offers a private dining area for up to 10 guests, featuring a view of the restaurant and curtains to draw for a more intimate experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A classy idyllic spot in the heart of London with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed the Greenhouse immensely.The tasting menu was excellent and the wine pairing choices complemented the meal very well.What impressed me was the portion size,not too large,and the truly fresh and light quality of the dishes.The Cornish crab,mint jelly, cauliflower and apple, followed by the Orkney Scallop and asparagus was beautiful, in both text and taste.The Monkfish and following meat course of lamb with Romero and Miso were good and although not to my taste,(my wife loved them both),were cooked well.The Pina Colada and then Pineapple with Lavender and Lemon were light and capped a great meal.This is top class fine dining and being in the heart of Mayfair not cheap.However I would not say it was over the top and we will return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    98
    62
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My boyfriend took me here for a lovely meal, the service was the best I have ever seen at any restaurant and the food was out of this world.

I can't wait to come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 52MichelleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Light and elegant cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Greeting & Services: Polite and smiling and not fussy/pretentious.
Room & Comfort: I am very sensitive to quality lighting and each table is well lit and the light does not make your face look 80-years old or sick! Cuisine uses many different types of plates, presentations etc...which adds fun to the experience.
Cuisine: Tomatoes/langoustines/pigeon/chicken/strawberry desert/safran
millefeuille/mignardises. The deserts for once in a restaurant were exceptional (try the strawberry whilst season lasts). Usually deserts are a let down which is very bad 'cause you end your meal on this! Not here. The other dishes were refined and light and with a fun presentation. Personally, I don't like the presentation of the "jus" with the pigeon. Does not look good in the plate. The mignardises are great as well. The quality of the pigeon raw mat was very good (and I love pigeons!).
Sommellerie: The sommelier is excellent, knows his business and advises well and does not advise/push only on French wines. I was hesitating with a Macon and a white Bordeaux at around GBP 150 the bottle, he directed me towards a really good Italian wine at GBP 66. That's what I call added value and also one of the reasons why I will return there. Otherwise, the wine list is very expensive for well-known wine makers. It is a shame. A bit like "you can watch but you can't touch!"
Value for Money: Very good (but again not for high-end wines).
Conclusion: I am a regular on the restaurant scene in London and abroad so hopefully with a good experience what to expect and not from a restaurant: That evening, I had a 2-stars Michelin meal with a delicate, elegant and light cuisine. The negatives are the location as it is difficult to locate the place, the prices on the wine list for most wines.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumeTirel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern cuisine, at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very good, very modern French food in a nice Mayfair setting, at high if not hair-curling prices. Excellent wine list as well. Not an everyday meal, but worth an occasional splurge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lnmsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ideal place for food lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited this restaurant with our daughter 8 yo. I thought we'd have some problems with a meal for her as it was high cousine restaurant. But we found suitable dish in a menu (it was chicken with filled pasta and chanterelles). They provide set menu: 65 pounds for 2 courses and 75 pounds for 3 courses. And they serve complimental dishes as a starter and pre-dessert. Food was excelent!!! Incredible decoration and magnificent taste!! I took fois gras rolled in muesli with cherry dressing, fish in nori with clams and gnocchi in a broth and incredible orange dessert. We were satisfied absolutely as the service was blameless and atmosphere was nice. I have to mention separately about huge wine list. So many wines from all over the world. It is worth to visit this restaurant to touch the real art. This place is perfect for special occasions. But we felt well also with a child.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anturix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing