We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cooking but Service rather lacking the 3 star expected”

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $157
Cuisines: French, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A must for the culinary connoisseur, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay offers exquisitely simply French cuisine, infusing the senses with subtle flavors, creative flair and a delicate finesse. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambiance and unparalleled service, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay has the hallmark of true excellence honored with three Michelin Stars as of January 2001. The seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a wide selection of exquisite dishes, ranging from Roasted Fillet of line caught Turbot and Oven Roasted Pigeon from Bresse, to Aged Casterbridge Beef Fillet and Roasted Barbary Duck Breast. The Set Lunch menu also offers equally outstanding quality, including such succulent dishes as Fillet of Daurade Royale, Braised Ox Cheek in red wine, and Roasted Fillet of Pork. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay operates a smart dress code. Jackets are preferred for gentlemen. Jeans, t-shirts and sportswear are not permitted.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Cooking but Service rather lacking the 3 star expected”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We ate on a Friday night and enjoyed a three course a la carte with an additional cheese course. Staff were very friendly and helpful but also very present and slightly intrusive. We were interrupted by half a dozen different people in our first ten minutes. They seemed very keen to speed us through our experience and we only sat down at 8pm. Waiters changes continuously, resulting in an offered second bread roll never materialising! The scallops and lobster starters were both lovely. Our pork and lamb main choices were also delicious and beautifully executed, but overly salty (which resulted in our being horribly dehyrdrated in the night). We then decided to share a cheese course at £15 but were very disappointed that when the cheese trolley arrived we were not allowed to choose our own selection but had to have a choice of five cheeses selected by the waiter with no discussion, despite our saying clearly we would like to be involved in choosing. We then had the assiette of desserts, which contained all the desserts on the menu in what appeared full size portions. Very good value and delicious desserts but left us feeling unpleasantly full! Courses came out very quickly irrespective of whether we were ready. Petit fours were brought whilst I was in the toliet so all the dry ice theatre was completely lost. I think the front of house needs to take more control rather than the kitchen sending food as they please. There was an extensive but expensive wine list. We enjoyed the wine we chose but it was hard to find any under £50. We were also surprised that when we were offered champagne on arrival no price list was offered, despite the sommelier attempting to up-sell us to Krug - could have been a nasty bill! Service charge was inclusive and our bill came to £350 ish, which is fairly par for the course at the places. We did enjoy it but it is definitely not the best 3 star experience we have had and in fact I have had equally good cooking and better service at many 2 star restaurants.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,137
    321
    129
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deserving of 3 Michelin Stars, Perfect”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great start to the New Year a memorable lunch time celebration with my family. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. From all of the staff exceptional service and the food was amazing. What more could you ask for? It was friendly and relaxed and not at all too formal or stuffy. Just perfect, I really could not have asked for more... all of the family were made to feel welcome and enjoyed the experience as as much as I did. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wow, this was some experience. Each course was exceptional, 10 out of 10. The pork main is a must. Relaxed environment, lovely staff. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMGKJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best experience at a restaurant!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

From the minute you are escorted into the restaurant, until you leave, this was a meal of a lifetime. Had already visited three other "must visit" restaurants, which I won't name here, we were expecting this restaurant to also just "be okay"! The entire evening was filled with the "best of the best", each course a visual and a tasting treat! We each had the tasting menu with accompanying wine, we did not find it stuffy, but we took pleasure in the way everything was handled in the proper way of service!
Yes, it is rather expensive, but it was worth every penny. It has been a couple of years since our visit to London, we are returning this year, looking forward to another visit to this restaurant. We still can recount every minute of our visit here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 999LauraP582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Food, Stuffy Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The food here was absolutely incredible, as one would expect from a three Michelin starred restaurant but the atmosphere just did not live up to expectations. I sometimes enjoy a more formal dining setting, so when I say stuffy, I just mean that the dining room is too small and feels very cramped, almost claustrophobic sometimes with the noise levels being far too high if there is a loud group. That being said, the food was absolutely decadent, i just think this could benefit from a remodel!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing