We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exquisite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 21,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $157
Cuisines: French, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A must for the culinary connoisseur, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay offers exquisitely simply French cuisine, infusing the senses with subtle flavours, creative flair and a delicate finesse. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambience and unparalleled service, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay has the hallmark of true excellence honoured with three Michelin Stars as of January 2001. The seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a wide selection of exquisite dishes, ranging from Roasted Fillet of line caught Turbot and Oven Roasted Pigeon from Bresse, to Aged Casterbridge Beef Fillet and Roasted Barbary Duck Breast. The Set Lunch menu also offers equally outstanding quality, including such succulent dishes as Fillet of Daurade Royale, Braised Ox Cheek in red wine, and Roasted Fillet of Pork. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay operates a smart dress code. Jackets are preferred for gentlemen. Jeans, t-shirts and sportswear are not permitted.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We came for lunch on a damp december day. The set lunch menu is always a good value way to eat at a michelin restaurant and we were not disappointed. Yes, when you add in the wine it's expensive but the food and service were top drawer and well worth it. I particularly liked the Maitre D, Jean-Claude, who was the perfect combination of charming and attentive but never interfering. And Clare Smyth's food (she deservedly got an MBE this year) was fantastic, beautifully made, amazing to look at and fabulous flavours.

Their marketing department did send an impersonal customer satisfaction survey a few days later, a thoughtless act of stupidity but apart from that, it was perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,997
    300
    118
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellence to the letter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took lunch here on a fine summer day a few weeks ago. From the first minute, service was outstanding, food was wonderful, decor was fitting. We had the tasting menu which took some time but was truly wonderful. Both my wife and I agreed this was the best we have had to date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlebirdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is high end classical fine dining at its very best, with superb, friendly and warm service. I ate here several years back, and I clearly remember the maitre d' making me feel very welcome, and he did exactly the same again yesterday. He even offered to show me the kitchen after the meal, but I had to pass because my taxi was waiting. Most definitely the friendliest 3 star restaurant I have been to! And it's looking good after its refurb in February - very cool, calm and relaxing shades in the dining room.

Here's my report on the food...
First I must mention the delicious bread and butter, particularly the onion and bacon brioche and a divine wheaten bread which exceeded my memories of wheaten from my Ulster childhood.
The amuse bouche was a delicate bowl of tomato essence, baby tomatoes and cucumber - the perfect summer introduction to the meal and the skill of the kitchen.
My starter was a fine summery confit salmon and fennel tart, which, although it looked more "rustic" than a traditional 3 star dish, was delicious and flavoursome, and reminded me of Provence. My partner had a good fig and smoked duck salad.
My main was rabbit loin (fantastically moist and tender), wrapped in Bayonne ham and accompanied by a fragrant lentil salad and turnip puree. Really good! The husband had a wonderful dish of cumbrian mutton which was so lean and tender.
Then we both had banana parfait with peanut butter and chocolate which was good, but I found the peanut butter element a bit heavy and clawing, although this was overcome by a glass of Jurancon 2010.

With top quality ingredients and excellent skills from the kitchen, plus the superb service, the £55 lunch menu was good value. The wines though are expensive, but very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High price for good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place, food was good not great. The cost was high. service was good but not real helpful. They think more of themselves than they of the people that eat there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bigFootzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had a lovely time and dinner,thank you everyone.
I will be back next time when i will visit London for sure!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Letitzia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing