We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great staff”

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $157
Cuisines: French, Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: A must for the culinary connoisseur, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay offers exquisitely simply French cuisine, infusing the senses with subtle flavors, creative flair and a delicate finesse. Combining contemporary elegance, an intimate ambiance and unparalleled service, Restaurant Gordon Ramsay has the hallmark of true excellence honored with three Michelin Stars as of January 2001. The seasonally inspired a la carte menu offers a wide selection of exquisite dishes, ranging from Roasted Fillet of line caught Turbot and Oven Roasted Pigeon from Bresse, to Aged Casterbridge Beef Fillet and Roasted Barbary Duck Breast. The Set Lunch menu also offers equally outstanding quality, including such succulent dishes as Fillet of Daurade Royale, Braised Ox Cheek in red wine, and Roasted Fillet of Pork. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay operates a smart dress code. Jackets are preferred for gentlemen. Jeans, t-shirts and sportswear are not permitted.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I took my boyfriend there for his birthday. First thing I have to say is that the staff were absolutely superb! Constantly making sure that we had drinks and bread, coming to refill our glasses in a completely non-obtrusive way, polite, very friendly... One waiter even took a picture of us outside the restaurant - I'm guessing they're used to it! I am not to used to such high-class restaurants and felt slightly intimidated at first, but everyone was so nice that I quickly felt comfortable.

The place looked lovely and had a nice atmosphere. We had the set lunch and I was very happy with the food, although my boyfriend thought that his starter (the ravioli) lacked flavour. The duck and the bread were simply to die for.

The only low point as far as I'm concerned was the wine. I'm sure there are plenty of outstanding wines around the world which are not that expensive!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jule955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,137
    321
    129
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfection Without Pretension”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were fortunate to get reservations for a mid-April Friday lunch in this very intimately sized dining room. We were seated at a table fairly close to the front windows with an excellent view of the whole room. The room's soft colours were quite relaxing and combined with the warmth of the staff, we felt very welcome and were eagerly looking forward to our first dining experience at Gordon Ramsay's.
We started with some 2007 Nytimber Blanc de Blancs white bubbly from England and also had a constant supply of sparking bottled water.
We each choose different items from the three course a la carte menu. Our choices were paired with excellent wines by the glass recommended by a very friendly and knowledgeable Sommelier. This young man was at the top of his game, having recently won the UK Sommelier of the Year competition. He even provided us with a detailed, handwritten list of the four different wines we enjoyed that day.What a bonus for Ramsay diners!
My favourite course was the seared Fois Gras which was matched with a 2006 Terravin Noble Sauvignon from the Marlborough region of New Zealand. My wife choose the seared scallops paired with a 2010 Vinhas Velhas from Portugal. She followed this with a grilled halibut course paired with a lively 2009 Savennieres from the Loire Valley. while I had the pork entrée done several different ways paired with a 2009 Adams Rib blend from Victoria.
Our dessert courses were well paired with a 2011 Muskat Ottonell and a Fonseca 20 yr. Tawny Port.
The entire dining experience was overseen by two Maître d's, several wait staff and a few servers. Each of them seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that everything was to our complete satisfaction. We've been to other fine restaurants where that wasn't the case. After our meal, the older Maître d' even invited us to have a quick visit with the Executive Chef in her kitchen.
This was an expensive meal but we would return again without hesitation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martini17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peerless London dining experience”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I returned to this restaurant for the first time in a couple of years this week. I am pleased to report that it as superb as ever.
Both the food and the service are outstanding. The front of house is overseen by the brilliant Jean-Claude, who achieves the difficult balance of being charming and engaging without ever becoming obsequious. He is a master of his craft. As importantly, the rest of the staff were uniformly friendly, attentive and efficient, leaving us at complete ease to enjoy the culinary experience.
We chose the tasting menu, having not been to the restaurant for some time and wishing to sample a good cross section of dishes. The food was fabulous. Ramsey classics such as lobster ravioli, pigeon and creme brûlée were handled with their customary deftness, but the new (to us) dishes were also triumphs. Halibut with a spice-infused broth was quite wonderful, and the lemon parfait equally brilliant. It is a rare restaurant indeed that can produce food of such consistent excellence.
We set the sommelier the slightly awkward task of finding two half bottles, one of white and one of red, to accompany the meal. Even top class restaurants struggle to produce decent half bottle selections, but we were delighted with the suggested bottles, which were both well chosen and quite restrained in price.
The restaurant has recently undergone a makeover, which is generally successful. The mood is calming, relaxed yet elegant, which seems to blend well with overall experience.
Dining such as this comes at a price. It is possible to spend several hundred pounds on a meal for two and feel either completely ripped off or as if one has been utterly cosseted. This restaurant very much falls into the latter category. We left after a wonderful few hours feeling very special. It was a privilege to be there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisCol25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent; Will definitely revisit”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Greeted with a very warm welcome from the staff who took care of us during our visit to the retaurant.

For a Michelin Starred restaurant, the lunch set was extremely valued for money. Service level was very high and the food quality was super. Every dish was explained carefully when it arrived.

We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the staff presented us with a scoop of sorbet and a small candle. Nothing fancy but it was a sweet thought. The maitre d' even invited us to take a peep at the kitchen!

Will definitely put Gordon Ramsay's on my list on my next trip to London!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_addict0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I described our first visit to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay as faultless, and 2nd time around was no exception. Having eaten at many Michelin Star restaurants around the UK, this one stands out from the crowd in every respect. Our welcome was warm, friendly, genuine, and having realised we were returning customers, they made us feel excited at the prospect of visiting them again.

Jean-Claude is a wonderful Maitre D'. He struggled to remember us from last year which was understandable, but effortlessly broke into conversation with us on many occasions throughout the afternoon. He is the host essentially and you feel incredibly well looked after.

The food is emaculate. Classic flavours brought together with artisitic precision and a lightness of touch. The 3 course A La Carte is what we opted for and we could not find fault with any of the cooking at all. Starter of Scallops was impeccably high quality and the Pressed Pied De Cochon was simply amazing. The Bresse Pigeon and Suckling Pig mains were equally if not more impressive. Unquestionably though, the Assiette D'Aubergine was some of the finest Dessert selections i've ever had in a restaurant. In particular, the Coconut Souffle achieved absolute perfection in my opinion.

Service was efficient, effortless, and very attentive, without being overbearing. I commend the back and front of house for providing such a memorable lunch for us and cant wait to return.

One minor quibble which I must share however is that I urge the front of house to make sure the Mirrors are cleaned properly as they appeared to be dirty and covered in print marks. Just something we noticed immediately when sitting at our table and i'm sure if this issue is amended, the customer cannot have a single complaint about this magnificent restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Goop2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gordon Ramsay also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Restaurant Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing