We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Hind

Golden Hind
Ranked #299 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Definitely some of the best fish and chips in the UK. It gets really crowded so have patience if you are queing to get a table - it's worth it! BYOB and enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HuwW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    299
    78
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice fish and chips, nice mushy peas. Short on ambiance, but would go again. Service was friendly but slow and somewhat difficult to understand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BTMartin1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Took us a while to find the place, but we eventually found it after shopping at Oxford Street. The ambience of the restaurant is cosy and their owners as well as staff are really warm and friendly people.

Ordered the regular sized traditional cod fish with chips and it was really filling! Any larger than that would have been too much for me.
The fish was juicy and not too dry and the chips were crispy and well cooked.

Whether or not it was the best fish and chips in the entire London is debatable but it was definitely a good meal. Well worth the visit for lunch if you're in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best Fish & Chips places in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We always eat at The Golden Hind whenever we are in London. Fantastic fish with the option of having steamed instead of battered and fried. Both are excellent.

Great family run establishment with good service. No charge BYOB.

Good location. A quick walk up from Oxford Street.

Looking forward to going back on my next trip to London.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

As a London tour guide I recommend
some tourists from Sao Paulo, Brazil to try our traditional dish of fish & chips.
My clients were overwhelmed by the whole experience.
The service is second to none, as is the quality of the food.
This establishment keeps it simple & clean. It works.
I will continue to recommend this place to many.
Thank you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariogws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing