We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Geales

Geales
Ranked #4,440 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $1 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Kensington and Hyde Park
Description: Geales has been London's most loved neighbourhood fish restaurant for over 70 years. Since 1939 this reputable restaurant has been a firm favorite with devoted locals and celebrities' alike. Geales offers a menu that retains the great British chip shop mentality... No frills, just fresh fish and fabulous service. The updated historic site provides a rustic yet chic local diner with a relaxed, nostalgic nod to the brand heritage.
Staines
1 review
“Expensive”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Geales in Notting Hill is renowned for having the best fish and chips in London and it is, I remember this restaurant from a child and have been back a few times when up in London, however went recently for your basic fish chips, mushy peas gherkin etc, the service is good and quick but when my haddock arrived it was upside down and looked liked it been fried too much which made the fish soggy inside, everything else was fine and hot but having only had one starter and a few olives one beer a pepsi and the fish and chips the bill was £51:00, luckily service charge was included because I did not think the fish priced at £11:75 was that good, I should have sent it back but ate what I could.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    104
    55
    27
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad value for money”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I visited this restaurant recently with a friend. Although I enjoyed the food everything was quite expensive. I paid £85 for 2 salads, fish platter, bottle of water and 2 glasses of house wine, including £10 service charge, not mentioned in the menu. I consider this too high a price for a place where service and atmosphere are below average and my expectations.
Conclusion – really bad value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobromir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Pricey for Fish and Chips”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here with friends and were very disappointed. We had fish and chips and it was a real rip off because you have to pay for the chips as a side order to go with the fish. This means that they can charge you a big price for a simple plate of fish and chips. We shared 2 bowls of rocket and Parmesan which were £7.50 a bowl which is a huge mark up. The bill at the end of the meal for 4 fish and chips, 2 salads and a bottle of wine was £120. The service was slow and we sat for a long time before the table was cleared of dirty dishes. We then sat a long time before we were asked if we wanted any sweets which we declined. I certainly won't be going here again. I can think of other nice fish restaurants in London where you can have the same kind of food at half the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant - highly recommend”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Went to Geales for a romantic dinner, the service was great, the food was fantastic. They could have a better wine list.
Would recommend the lobster linguine and the fish & chips.
Portions were all generous sizes.
Understand why this place has such a good reputation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Two Wonderful Lazy Lunches”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We ate there twice over the last weekend.

We all had variations on Fish & Chips (haddock and cod) on the Friday and lot of seafood on the Sunday.

Order the lobster seafood platter for two to share at £45 for your main. Best lobster ever, and enough extras to feed you all.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Huskyrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geales also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Geales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing