We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the busy bar downstairs, elegant dining”
Review of First Floor Restaurant - CLOSED

First Floor Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Description: If Harpers and Queen are raving about your restaurant you know you’ve got it made. But, let’s face it Notting Hillbillies don’t need H&Q to tell them that First Floor is ‘wonderful’ and ‘decadent’. They clearly already know that this shrine to glamour and good taste is a winner because there’s a profusion of fashionable locals in here every night basking under the huge chandelier among the boho chic Austen-meets-French chateau décor. The surroundings might be impressive but they’d be nothing without the food – beautifully prepared luxurious modern European dishes such as the rapture inducing dover sole with chargrilled asparagus and caper butter sauce.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the busy bar downstairs, elegant dining”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We had an offer at £15 for 2 courses, the price usual at lunch time but we were there in the evening. Sea bream cooked perfectly with crushed pots and fresh asparagus. Lovely deserts all washed down with a well served rose. Good service (on the bill), further rooms upstairs. It felt like a good deal, I've paid far more in this area for poorer quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    61
    9
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting decor”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely place to eat and the food was good too. The only thing - I would have liked a few more carbs - a warm bread roll would have been sufficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb meal that could not be faulted”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We would recommend this restaurant - The food was exceptional and presented in a superb manner along with a very professional but friendly staff.
We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back for more!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I are new to England and found ourself in Notting Hill for the markets not really knowing what to expect.

We stopped in for a cold beer at The First Floor Bar and enjoyed the buzzing atmosphere and friendly bar staff so much we decided to grab a table out on the foot path and have lunch.

It was lovely sunny day and although the venue was very busy we were served quickly and loved our meals.

A couple of cocktails to finish and we were off down Portobello Rd for some more market fun.

If we lived in the area this would easily be our local. We'll definitely be back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank batman8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have been going to this place for over 3 years and I just wanted to thank everybody there for making my dinners and evening so enjoyable!

Hope to come and see you all soon and have one of those delicious burgers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Floor Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing