We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Reasonable Atmosphere”
Review of Dover Street Restaurant - CLOSED

Dover Street Restaurant
Price range: $46 - $79
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: This is one of the few places in London which consistently offers a combination of fine cuisine with top live music acts and dancing every night until 3am. The restaurant has recently been refurbished and serves modern French/Mediterranean style food. This is a great place to go if you want a lively atmosphere and entertainment in a West End location. What's cooking? King prawns with lobster sauce, Dover Street gravadlax, toasted goats cheese with Mediterranean roast vegetables, char grilled fillet steak, pot roasted duck with carrot puree, braised parsnips and potato sautee.
Taunton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average Food, Reasonable Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We dropped in for a bite to eat - soup was luke warm, steak was ok but not brilliant, drinks are quite expensive.
For atmosphere its ok - good music, lively and happening place !!.

Would I go back - probably, but not for a special night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    73
    43
    33
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshireclanger
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice food.nice venue, expensive food and drinks.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The reception was warm and welcoming. We arrived early so we didn't experience the whole atmosphere of music and dancing, but it did start to warm up as we were leaving. The food was well presented and tasty. The service was professional and efficient. Didn't like the 12.5 percent service charge added to what was a present (voucher) so we didn't pay it. The drinks were highly priced, nearly £6 for a glass of lager! Why they don't charge a reasonable rate I don't know as we would have ordered more. A glass of wine was equally as dear. All in all it was an ok visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordshireclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great music and good food”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I didn't expect the food to be anything special as most people would probably go for the music. I was pleasantly surprised! My halloumi starter was great and my husband was pleased with the prawn starter. I had steak which was good. The service was good too most of the time. The music was great, but the main band did not start until 11 o'clock which is far too late. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Affy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good jazz but venue so dated”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we arrived and were seated at our table we thought Oh No!
Function tables and chairs and it all seemed so dated.
However, the food was good. The Jazz was amazing, especially the band that came on late. Our only gripe is that they came on so late. We missed the 2nd half as we left at 11.30pm. We are night birds but even for us this was late.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food but stone cold.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Loved the starters but my main course was far too cold to enjoy. When I mentioned it to our friendly waiter he simply gave an Italian shrug and refused to talk to us any more after that, as if it was my fault. House jazz band very enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrshappySevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dover Street Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing