We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude welcome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Depot

The Depot
Ranked #2,013 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $44
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Barnes bridge station (5 min walk) Mortlake high street station (15 min walk) White hart lane bus stop.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went there before the boat race, and the man at the door was very rude and arrogant, showing us the menu and making us understand that we didn't look like we could afford it. Will never go back

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GianniM250, Manager at The Depot, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Although we were booked beyond capacity because of the Oxford/Cambridge Boat Race Day we tried our very best to accommodate these people but from past experience in order to avoid disappointment or unpleasant surprises we felt we had to tell them that we were offering a more expensive special 3 course menu (just as we told all the other customers who had made a booking to be with us that day) which was the only option available for the occasion. We absolutely never implied that these people couldn’t afford our pricing. We explained and spoke to them in the friendliest manner. We certainly didn’t mean to offend and we are sorry that our effort to help and honesty were left totally misunderstood and unappreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    89
    34
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food good value good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I needn't say any more
The depot is all these things. The menu is modern English and all very tasty and good value. Ok it's not über cheap but then it's not über pricey.
I would say for the location and quality of the food and service it's very good value.
Do go, it's less crowded than the other Barnes eateries but then it's less Barnesey (in a good way)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orangejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service and food in a stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We popped in without a reservation on a busy Saturday afternoon and were given a great table overlooking the river. The service was excellent; patient, friendly and helpful. We shared 3 starters and they were all fantastic. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BebedainRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nothing but a good view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location but that is all I can say positive about the place. Below average food and terrible management. It would do from a complete overhaul in style and taste otherwise I won't go back. Shame - really great location but you could do better at any of the local pubs for food.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kphilbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Disappointing Venison”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went for a 60th birthday party. Restaurant went to great lengths to ask if we wanted the main course pink or well done. 3 arrived (requested pink) all well done (very overcooked and chewy. My husband's didn't arrive and he was left for ages whilst everyone else ate. When his arrived it was pink. Starter was a crispy duck salad - nice but nothing special. Pudding was a nice creme brulee.

We weren't paying but if we had been I would have sent the venison back. It was a lovely evening but that had little to do with the food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Womble422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot also viewed

 

Been to The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing