We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian in Covent Garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Mario Covent Garden

Da Mario Covent Garden
Ranked #209 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Covent Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My party of 6 were wandering in Covent Garden, looking for dinner. Lots of really crowded places. We spot Da Mario, not crowded at all. Can it be any.good if there are no customers? YES! Had wonderful fresh homemade artichoke tortellini, great bruschetta, Parma ham with perfect honey sweet figs, house wine was great. Service was friendly, attentive & jovial. All for a fine price, drink, wine, starter, main, dessert, £20each.Totally recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    197
    44
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Gluten free sensitive! Fantastic food! Best dining experience in London AND Paris. Run to this restaurant. Convenient to theaters and Royal Opera House. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge kent uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brian H”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for 15 years and have never had a bad meal. Sardines and Penne arribiatta are especially good. Extremely reasonable prices considering position in the West End. Good wine list and excellent service ensure that I return time and time again so would highly reccommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly little Italian place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good friendly service and decent food. Highlights being the crab linguine and the tomato and mozzarella salad. The lasagne was also good and a decent sized portion, the scallops starter wasn't great, any flavour they had (the scallops)was completely lost (possibly they were frozen). Very good home-made desserts though, the apple tart was delicious. We will definitely return to Da Mario next time we are staying in the area, sitting outside on a summer's evening was most enjoyable. If you want a no-frills Italian restaurant serving standard, traditional food this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate here because of trip advisor, we had just arrived at our hotel the Travelodge on High Holburn Road and googled Italian restaurants close by...
This restaurant had outstanding reviews so we thought we would give it a go...
The food was excellent and extremely tasty.. One of my daughters is a fussy eater but loved the lasagne.. Really nice staff as well, would highly recommend..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Mario Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Da Mario Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing