We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”
Review of Chutney Mary - MOVED

Chutney Mary
Price range: $41 - $63
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Following 25 glorious years in Chelsea, Chutney Mary has now moved to its new home in St. James's Street. It now features a completely new site of menus to suit every time of the day, mood and taste. Serving contemporary Indian, extensive menu from seafood to grills with a few slow-cooked curries and as interesting variety of breads. Adjacent to the restaurant, is a destination bar with its unique atmosphere serving exotic cocktails, many with botanicals, as well as non-alcoholic drinks such as fresh coconut water in shell and fresh pineapple juice in fruit. The varies drinks list includes craft beers and artisanal gins & malts.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Chutney Mary has the reputation for being one of the best Indian restaurants in the UK and our experience backs this up. Everything was to a very high standard...the food, the service and the atmosphere. There were 5 of us in all and we had a very enjoyable evening. It is also worth noting that there is currently an offer on their website of 25% off for new diners joining their mailing list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    134
    54
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I have been to Chutney Mary now several times with family and friends, and it is always so fantastic. The quality of the food is superb and it is without doubt the best Indian food we have had in London. The service is very warm and friendly and so welcoming, without being too much. It's also refreshing to know that when you ask any of the waiters about any dish they know all about it and how it tastes. When booking, I always request to sit in the same area each time we visit, and they always accommodate this. This is great service.

The menu is perfect - not too much to make your choice impossible, but enough to make a it a little difficult! A few food highlights: The tandoori king prawns are sensational with the blueberry jam - divine! The tasting platter of curries as a main (if you are spoilt for choice and can't narrow it down) is really delicious and you get to try a bit of 4 of the mains on the menu. It's not too huge a portion either - but it is enough, you are given a mini portion of each which is perfect. The lamb biryani is also a great option as is the calcutta prawn curry - I had this last night and it was so good!

All the food is fresh and cooked and seasoned/spiced to perfection. Being greedy we also always have to order the rajasthani potatoes - they are out of this world! I don't know how they cook them but they are crispy roasted and spiced potatoes in a tomato based sauce...so naughty and so nice. The poppadoms, chutneys, relishes, naan breads etc are also all very good too.

The atmosphere is good, service, food and staff all excellent and it's the top of our list of best restaurants in London. It is a must for curry lovers!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“High Standard”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Food is ok, i have had better far better, however the restaurants setting and ambience is beautiful. I would return to impress friends and family, however the food quality and taste can and should improve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anishaq007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diwali set meal”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a superb three course set menu .The service was amazing! I had to order non-dairy Vegetarian dishes so the helpful waiter spoke to the Manager,who came to our table to discuss ingredients.Nothing was too much trouble.The cuisine was immaculately presented,and the flavours all combined to deliver a most mouth-watering meal.The coconut Prawn Curry was delicious.Obviously,one of their unusual cocktails is a must-try the Pink Grapefruit and Guava!The Restaurant itself has such a lovely warm and cosy atmosphere,using subtle lighting and candles.Always a delight whenever we go there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Limited menu with average food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were really looking forward to good Indian Food and this restaurant was highly recommended. It was a disappointment. One staff member didn't know what the next was doing. At one point we had three different people bringing us the same bottle of wine. And the menu is so limited. The choices are very limited. The quantities are very small and the food was just okay. I would not go back and would not recommend it. There are much better Indian restaurants in London

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preman M, Manager at Chutney Mary, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback which I was most concerned to read.

We endeavour to maintain the highest standards. We take complaints very seriously.

I would like to investigate your feedback in detail and as a matter of urgency. Hence it will be most helpful if you could provide me with few details of your visit.

You may either scan and email us a copy of the bill – at pm@realindianfood.com - or
If you are unable to do provide a copy of the bill, please help us by providing the following information:
- The name in which the reservation was made
- The time at which you came/ate.
- All the dishes you ordered.
- A description of the waiting staff who served you.

Incidentally, was there a particular reason why you did not ask to speak to the manager? Did he visit your table? The managers on duty are there to troubleshoot, and handle situations such as the one in which you found yourself.

I thank you for your time and assure that i will revert as soon as I receive your response.

Preman Mohan
Operations Director, Fine Dining
M W Eat Ltd.
pm@realindianfood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Mary also viewed

 
London, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing