We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, lovely aesthetics, shame about the service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Churchill Arms

The Churchill Arms
Ranked #481 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely aesthetics, shame about the service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited lunchtime on Friday 15/02/13. We were pleasantly surprised but how lovely the place looks. The outside is totally covered by plants which must be a nightmare to water! It is a mixture of old pub that has a bunch of history attached, but adapted to literally blossom and to provide very affordable and delicious food.
It is bigger that you'd expect, and at the rear it has a restaurant wing that has skylights and is covered in plants. Beautiful and relaxing surroundings only let down by dreadful acoustics when it is busy. Loud people laughing literally pierces through for some reason.
The ale is fine (Fullers), and the Thai food is delicious with plenty to eat for £7.95 per head (rice, and a Thai green curry with a choice of meats and veg).
The only real negative is the service. The waitress only brought 4 meals for our group of 5 despite our ensuring she had all the orders and despite our being assured there was one more meal coming after the fourth was brought out. Very little "please" and "thank-you", and no "sorry" at all. If the ratings were purely for service, it would get a 1. Despite this, I would thoroughly recommend a visit for a great value meal and a lovely part of London

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    437
    105
    32
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“unusual mix of an English pub with a good thai restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

in the english pub part the ceiling is decorated with an amazing and mind-boggling amount of curio objects,brass pot,ol instruments etc. the thai part is the jungle kingdom, with plenty of plants and strange paraphernalia.
the thai restaurant is good but it closes at 22h00. very cosy and close to Nottin Hill station, it's a good destination for an unusual night expedition

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drolky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've been many times in this pub cause I live just around the corner. It's a perfect fusion between thai food and english drinks! The dining room is a kind of greenhouse...quite amazing...
About the food...good level...not excellent...great pad thai...good curry (unfortunately the don't use coconut cream...if u know thai food u know the big difference)...so...this pub it's perfect for every situation but not for business and romantic dates...because most of the time it's too loud for the tourists...
cheers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the walk.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We went in on a Friday night, the place was full and we needed to wait for a table. We ordered our drinks and stood in the bar to take in our surroundings, you could spend all day looking around and you still would miss something’s. The staff was very good. When we sat down the food was worth the wait, Delicious Thai food. The only issue is that you are told to be finished in an hour, so not for a couple on a romantic night out, but all said we would come back again.
Try and book in advance, in order to get a better table, our table was small and in an exposed area in the bar, but it did not distract us from our food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went on a Saturday night. It was packed but we managed to get a table for dining at 9.45pm. The kitchen closes at 10pm. The food is very cheap, the portions are very generous and tastes delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seyyah_Funda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing